My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Certainly Certain!

 

I often wonder why it is that during trials, my mind always runs to what I don’t know.  My thoughts swirl and rage around all the negative things. They become charged with fear and worry. Till soon I am in an emotional tornado of anxiety and agitation.

Recently,  my daughter,  Adriana has been sick. We took her to get tested and the doctor called and asked us to come in for results. Usually they just send them in the mail. Immediately my mind was flooded with things I didn’t know. What if she has this or that? So and so’s mother had the same symptoms and she was diagnosed with XYZ. It was crazy how buck wild my thoughts were. It was thought chaos. I didn’t even realize how out of control my thoughts were until my daughter said to me, ‘Mom, I am nervous about the results.” That’s when I realized that my thoughts were focused on what I didn’t know. I had whipped up a great storm of  negative “what ifs.” Gently, the Holy Spirit directed me to what I needed to do not only for myself but also for Adriana.

I began to tell Adriana and myself what I knew for certain.

I know for certain that our God’s plan for us is for good.

Jeremiah 29:11 (AMP)

11 For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for WELFARE AND PEACE and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome.

That word welfare in the Hebrew is translated as: completeness, soundness, welfare, peace. This is the thoughts that God has toward us. God is not thinking, “Oh my, Adriana is sick, I wonder what she has? I know, I will use this to teach her.” The God of the universe, the All Powerful, All knowing One, is thinking thoughts about you, me and Adriana that are filled with helping us to receive completeness, soundness, welfare and peace. That is what is in the heart of God for us as we encounter trial.

I know for certain that God is our healer.

Matthew 15:30-31 (NIV)

30 Great crowds came to him, bringing the lame, the blind, the crippled, the mute and many others, and laid them at his feet; and he healed them. 31 The people were amazed when they saw the mute speaking, the crippled made well, the lame walking and the blind seeing. And they praised the God of Israel.

Exodus 15:26
26 saying, “If you will diligently listen to the voice of the Lord your God, and do that which is right in his eyes, and give ear to his commandments and keep all his statutes, I will put none of the diseases on you that I put on the Egyptians, for I am the Lord, your healer.”
I know for certain that God works ALL things together for our good. So every situation we face, GOD IS OUR PARTNER! We can trust Him to help us. We will see good.

Romans 8:28 (AMP)

28 We are assured and know that [God being a partner in their labor] all things work together and are [fitting into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and are called according to [His] design and purpose.

As we focused our hearts on what we know for certain, anxiety was banished. Peace flooded our souls. We went to the doctor and it turned out that all Adriana’s tests were normal. The doctor was just one who liked to deal with her patients face to face.

It seems to me, that uncertainty will always come, but we have a certain place. It is God. When we let Him be our refuge, by allowing His certainties to rule in our thinking, the loud voice of the unknown is quieted.  Our energy is not wasted in worry and fear.

Dear friend, whatever you are facing that makes you feel uncertain, begin by seeking God for His certainty about that situation. Ask Him to give you a specific scripture to meditate on. Let that scripture reign in your thinking. Eat it, breathe it, speak it. Especially, when you feel overwhelmed by what you don’t know. I had to remind myself over and over that God’s plan for Adriana is for good and that I would see good in this situation. I did see good.  But, I had four days between the call and the actual office visit. Four days to be tormented by uncertainty.  Praise God!  He is teaching me how to overcome the enemy of my soul. Every time, the “what ifs” would rise up, I would speak what I know for certain. It certainly changed my life. I walked in peace when I normally would have been anxious and panicked.  I choose to live my life firmly rooted in what I know for certain…..God is love and His plan for me is for good. I can trust Him. So can you. Weather the Storm

 

 

Comments on: "Certainly Certain!" (2)

  1. Thank you for sharing!! This was a blessing for me this morning! ❤

  2. What an amazing testimony of trusting in God’s promises in the bible. How true that His word will carry more weight than our situations and circumstances. You trusted in the certainty of His promise found in the scriptures and because of the power of the covenant of God with us…you found His peace in the midst of the storm. His love is unfailing toward us and his word goes forth to do His good pleasure! Thank you for sharing this uplifting story, we will join in prayer for continued good health for your family.

Leave a Reply

