Home

FAITH, TRUTH TALK and “Getting down and Praying up”

Why is it in times of trouble, when bad things that are happening, it is easier for us to begin negative “self talk, ” looking into the darkness, than to look into the light, the TRUTH of the LORD?

I think that as humans, it is difficult to overcome our “humanly nature,” and step out in faith. I say this because even though I know God is in control, my humanly mind is held captive by the dark, and it takes more willpower to seek the light, than it does to stay in the dark.

In the moment of despair, there are times my mind is ravaged by negative thoughts, and it is easy to let those dark thoughts and negative possibilities change my mood, causing me unnecessary stress and anguish.

I am learning the sooner I “Get down and Pray up,”  the sooner I banish those negative feelings with TRUTH TALK, filling my heart with peace and contentment.

(Get down and Pray up=Humbly GETTING DOWN on my knee’s to PRAY UP to Jesus.)

James 4 v 10: “Humble yourselves in the sight of the LORD, and He shall lift you up.”

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Examples of Truth Talk:

Hebrews 11 v 1: “Now FAITH is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”

Hebrews 10 v 23: “Let us hold fast to the profession of our FAITH  without wavering; for He is faithful..”

James 1 v 2-6: “My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this,  that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of GOD, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given to him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed.”

Psalm 46 v 1: “God is our refuge and our strength.”

Psalm 9 v 10: “And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.”

Hebrews 13 v 8: “Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today, and forever.”

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

There are many more examples of  truth talk and faith in the Bible. These are just a few that I meditate on to ground me when I am unsettled.

Praise be to God, our LORD, and Savior!

Leave a Reply

