Home

Overcoming Shame (study) pt 3

20130618_080227

3 Fundamental Relationships in life:

•God
•Others
•Myself

I can’t give what I don’t have.

If I can’t let God help me to love myself, I will not love others the way God wants me to.

If my relationship with myself is not well (whole, or right) I will never have a relationship with God like He wants me to have.

My only scriptural source for self worth is that God loves me. The adversary understands this (our lack of belief, lack of scripture study) and tries to get us to find self worth from within ourselves.

*Self* worth is no worth at all. But if my worth comes from the revelation of how God feels about me, then my worth isn’t coming from my opinion of myself, it’s based on GOD’s opinion of me.

(Bragging, arrogance, pride, and vanity are signs that I’m seeking self worth from my own opinion. I’m trying to convince others to agree.)

Shame tells me that God is mistaken when He says this is how “I feel about you.”

God sees us differently than we see ourselves. Gideon hid behind a wine press to thrush wheat. It wasn’t wine season and he hid back there so thieves wouldn’t come take what little bit he had. While he was hiding in fear, an angel showed up and called him a mighty man of valor. The man that God chose to lead the victory didn’t see himself that way at all.

How does God get his plan done when the people he has chosen have no confidence that it can happen?

We don’t believe that we are mighty men/women of valor because of shame.

Dealing with shame is not just about feeling better about myself. It’s about hearing from God and being able to confidently say “Yes, Lord!”

1 John 3:16 – Hereby perceive we the love of God, because he laid down his life for us: and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren.

The God of eternity robed himself in flesh & suffered the worst death imaginable for ME.

How discrediting to Him for me not to believe that.

______________________________
Romans 5:8 but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

1 John 4:7-8  Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.  Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.

1 Peter 5:6-7  Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you,  casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

Proverbs 8:17 I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

(credit to Charles Wright & Tabernacle of Joy..you can look this study up on YouTube if you’d like to jump ahead.)

2 thoughts on “Overcoming Shame (study) pt 3”

  1. Often I ask God to show me His view of me and the situation I am facing. I ask Him to show me how to feel about things and I give Him what I feel. I realize that I am a bad “lover.” I need Him to teach me how to love. I have found that the more I learn of how He loves me, the better I love. That is why it is so necessary for me to soak myself in His Word. The Word is His thoughts about me. I loved the scriptures you included with this lesson.

Leave a Reply

