Home

No Exchanges Allowed!

My Family and I are reading through the book of Romans.                                   When we came to this scripture:

Romans 1:25

25 Because they exchanged the truth of God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, Who is blessed forever! Amen (so be it).

My heart was greatly convicted. I know this scripture is right in the middle of the homosexual debate. Yet, as I read it, all I could hear is:

Where am I exchanging God’s truth for a lie?

“Where am I worshiping myself instead of God?”

That word exchange in the Greek means: altered, transformed, changed.

Where in my life am I trying to altered, or change God’s Word to suit what I want or need?

Let me share with you exactly where. We are in a season of learning about honor in my home.  I have been noticing that my children treat each other disrespectfully. They also hurry to get their chores done and end up doing a very poor job of it. I was feeling quite frustrated on how to train them correctly. I talked with them, I prayed with them, I disciplined them. Nothing seemed to be working.  As I sought the Lord, He began to show me the root of this behavior.

My children are copying what they see…..yes, I just wrote that. My life has been so hectic that I am short tempered, and stressed out. My time with the Lord has dwindled to way less then I need. I am easily frustrated, and quick to anger. I am impatient with my husband. They see dishonor in me and so they follow my example. What started out as a correction for my children has become a conviction of the Holy Spirit for me.

Honor means giving weight or value to something.

Dishonor means to treat as common, of little value.

Honor is something that is really important to me.  Being a woman of honor and integrity is highly valuable to me. It is how I see myself. So, when the Lord began to show me where dishonor is operating in my life, it broke my heart. With out even noticing, I have been “token”  honoring God. Giving verbal honor to Him but my heart is on myself and what I need and want.  My heart is full of plans to do what I want, how I want, when I want. I alter His Word to fit my plans, teaching my children to honor their parents but not  honoring God myself.  Just like my children have been doing to me, I have listened to God and continued to do what I want.  God has been on my lips but far from my heart.

How could this happen?

Romans 1:21 (AMP)

21 Because when they knew and recognized Him as God, they did not honor and glorify Him as God or give Him thanks. But instead they became futile and godless in their thinking [with vain imaginings, foolish reasoning, and stupid speculations] and their senseless minds were darkened.

It has happened because I have stopped treating God and His word as valuable. I have not let His word hold the most weight in my life. I have let my own ideas and opinions become my basis for making decisions. I have been trying to be a wife, mother, friend and daughter from my own strength. I have become too comfortable in what I know of Him. Instead of getting fresh wisdom, I have depended on what I already have. I bought the lie that I know what to do. As I am getting older, it easy to base my decision on experience. However, unless that experience is filter through God’s word, my end results will always be skewed.  Scripture clearly states that I am to be led by the Holy Spirit not my experience or logic.

I feel like I have become just as the scripture says:

Romans 1:22(AMP)

22 Claiming to be wise, they became fools [professing to be smart, they made simpletons of themselves].

I can not teach my children what I do not know.  This area of dishonor, treating God’s word as common, has affected not only me but them also. I am so grateful that God has brought it to my attention. As I repented to God and to them for this, God is teaching me and them. They get to see me fall down and get back up.They get to see me forgive myself and receive God’s mercy for my failure.

Yes, I was walking in dishonor, but God’s grace reached out to me and helped me to recognize it and repent.  He has made provision for me. He is helping me to recognize the truth and walk in it. To honor Him with all my heart. No more exchanges or alterations in the honor department or any portion of my life. He will help me honor Him with all that I am. I will chose God’s truth because He will help me recognize it. The lie will become so glaring that I won’t even want to consider it.

2 thoughts on “No Exchanges Allowed!”

  1. Jenni, Friend, thanks you once again for sharing your life with us all. It is inspiring to me to see your growth in the Lord by reading and weighing His words. Your changes>my changes>all changes for the better! Talk to you soon..Snitch

  2. Keep on the path of INTEGRITY…it’s a winner every time! Bless you for sharing this experience with your family, my prayer is that it will touch the hearts of parents and children and cause a good change to begin! Blessings….Zoey

Leave a Reply

