Home

Worn by Tenth Avenue North

Thumbnail.aspxThis morning on my way to work, I listened to an interview on the radio with the band Tenth Avenue North.  To me it was one of those moments where the story of the song grabs your heart and the Holy Spirit whispers to remind you God has meet you in the moment, too.  Some days are better than others but if there is a song that could tell my story…it would be Worn.

I’m tired 
I’m worn 
My heart is heavy
From the work it takes to keep on breathing

I’ve made mistakes 
I’ve let my hope fail
My soul feels crushed
By the weight of this world
And I know that you can give me rest
So I cry out with all that I have left

Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That you can mend a heart that’s frail and torn

I want to know a song can rise
From the ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
Cause I’m worn

I know I need 
To lift my eyes up
But I’m too weak
Life just won’t let up
And I know that You can give me rest
So I cry out with all that I have left

Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That you can mend a heart that’s frail and torn

I want to know a song can rise
From the ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
Cause I’m worn

And my prayers are wearing thin
I’m worn even before the day begins
I’m worn I’ve lost my will to fight
I’m worn so heaven come and flood my eyes

Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That you can mend a heart that’s frail and torn

I want to know a song can rise
From the ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
Yes all that’s dead inside will be reborn
Though I’m worn 
Yeah I’m worn

2 thoughts on “Worn by Tenth Avenue North”

  1. My dear friend of my heart, and sister in Christ. This song, also, is MY SONG. Let me tell you a story: One day I was feeling especially defeated at every turn, and the radio started playing this song. It was the first time I had heard it, and I pulled out of traffic into a deserted parking lot, and put my car into park. With my head resting on the steering wheel, I sat and listened as this stranger took every aching cell and drop of blood out of my very soul and heart and put it into words for all to hear. I was so weary, I could not lift my head. With tears clouding my eyes, and streaming down my face, the next song began,,”Hello, My name is..” (Matthew West) pretty much summed up all the failure I felt, all the disappointment I felt in myself…then the last verse caught my attention..”I am the child of the one TRUE KING.” The next song, was also by Matthew West, “Forgiveness,” this one, ..THIS ONE made me sob the hardest..the resentment I had for my closest loves, who were tearing me apart..”It’s the opposite of how you feel, when the pain they caused is just too real , it takes everything you have just to say the word: Forgiveness..Then, finally “Rise,” (Shawn McDonald),,”I will rise..out of these ashes rise..

    Oh, Sis..I gotta tell you, that song brought me out of my self pitying funk faster than anything else. I felt like i had an epiphany! You know, all these songs have our sorrows, and guilt written in them, but I gotta say, I WILL RISE!! OUT OF THESE ASHES RISE!!

    There is a new song I have really been listening to,,it is…”All I can do (Thank You) by Mikeschair:
    “All I can do is thank you for this life I never deserved, Wanna thank you you for the grace I don’t have to earn, You Love Me, You Love Me, Your mercy is proof, All I can do, is say Thank you.”
    Blessings my friend! ❤
    Nicolette

Leave a Reply

