My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

A United Heart

 https://i2.wp.com/www.dailylifeverse.com/posts/images/2013/01/john-8-12.jpg

Matthew 6:22 (KJV)

22 The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light.

My body is the place I now live. It is what God has given me to steward. My eyes are what I use to input knowledge of my world around me, to direct my path, to make decisions. If I use my eyes to focus on the wrong things, then my knowledge will be wrong, my direction will be off and my decisions will be skewed.  So, I must ask myself, what am I looking at?  What am I letting light my body?

What I know is that I used to be a child of darkness. However, once I accepted Christ, He drew out of the kingdom of darkness and into His light (1 Thess. 5:5). Jesus is the light of the world (John 8:12). When I allow Him to rule and reign in my life, my path is clearly lit and my whole self is filled with His light. This takes place as I focus on Him.

What I am learning is that my focus must be adjusted and narrowed. My focus continually wants to go to all things to worship myself and to get what I think I deserve. I am learning how to trust the Lord to help me see as He does. This is a very intensive process because it requires me to stop. As I am living my life, I have practiced many years of doing what I want, what I feel, without a pause.  So learning to halt that which comes naturally is labor intensive.

…….. if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light.

I looked up that word “single” in the Greek on the website Biblos.com and here is the definition:

Short Definition: single, simple, sound
Definition: single, simple, sound, perfect.

Cognate: 573 haploús (haploós) – properly, unfolded, single – literally, “without folds” (J. Thayer), referring to a single (undivided) focus, i.e. without a (secret) “double agenda” which prevents an over-complicated life (becoming needlessly distracted).

In order for my whole being to be filled with Jesus, (remember Jesus is the light of the world) my focus must be totally and completely on Him.  No double agendas! What I am finding is that I do have double agendas…places that I want God to do what I want, the way I want. Often these are places in my heart that I don’t even recognize as places I am keeping for myself.  I often become needlessly distracted. Often, even with good things. Serving God doesn’t always look like I think it should.

David understood this for he wrote:

Psalm 86:11 (NIV)

11 Teach me your way, Lord,
that I may rely on your faithfulness;
give me an undivided heart,
that I may fear your name.

Charles H. Spurgeon writes in commentary on this:

“Verse 11. Teach me thy way, O LORD.

Instruct me thus at all times, let me live in thy school; but teach me now especially since I am in trouble and perplexity. Be pleased to shew me the way which thy wisdom and mercy have prepared for my escape; behold I lay aside all willfulness, and only desire to be informed as to thy holy and gracious mind. Not my way give me, but thy way teach me, I would follow thee and not be willful. I will walk in thy truth.

When taught I will practice what I know, truth shall not be a mere doctrine or sentiment to me, but a matter of daily life. The true servant of God regulates his walk by his master’s will, and hence he never walks deceitfully, for God’s way is ever truth. Providence has a way for us, and it is our wisdom to keep in it. We must not be as the bullock which needs to be driven and urged forward because it likes not the road, but be as men who voluntarily go where their trusted friend and helper appoints their path.

Unite my heart to fear thy name. Having taught me one way, give me one heart to walk therein, for too often I feel a heart and a heart, two natures contending, two principles struggling for sovereignty. Our minds are apt to be divided between a variety of objects, like trickling streamlets which waste their force in a hundred runnels; our great desire should be to have all our life floods poured into one channel and to have that channel directed towards the Lord alone. A man of divided heart is weak, the man of one object is the man.

God who created the bands of our nature can draw them together, tighten, strengthen, and fasten them, and so braced and inwardly knit by his uniting grace, we shall be powerful for good, but not otherwise. To fear God is both the beginning, the growth, and the maturity of wisdom, therefore should we be undividedly given up to it, heart, and soul.”

Today, God is uniting my focus, my heart in His grace, so my eye becomes single. This is something I cannot do on my own. Yet, as I seek Him, He shows me what my part of this is. He wants me to be filled with His light. He shows me where my focus is on needless distractions. Then He helps me to put my focus on Him. As I do this, not only do I walk in His light but as a member of the body of Christ as a whole, I bring light to my brothers and sisters in Christ.  He solidifies my agenda…..Only Jesus!

Father,

You have given us the ability to see, to know and to understand. I just come before you and repent for leaning to my own understanding.  I ask you to help us all humble our hearts before you, and to recognize where we have double agendas. Thank you for correcting us and loving us enough to lift us up out of those dark places. Help us to want you more than anything else. Unite our hearts to seek you about all else. How wonderful it is to be filled with your light.  Let us be full of you. In Jesus Name, Amen

 

Comments on: "A United Heart" (2)

  1. Jenni:

    Amazing insight…God’s insight! I think about a race horse, how they wear blinders to block the peripheral vision so their focus is ahead…no distractions to deter them from the goal…which is to run a good race and Victory!

    What a strong illustration of the power of God’s truth to light the way, to give single vision, purpose, truth in our life when Jesus calls us to follow Him.

    I will ponder on this…sooo good! Bless you…Zoey

Leave a Reply

