My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Stealing Jesus

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/p480x480/319892_358593180848591_1543310506_n.jpg

It happens when my emotions are high in a frustrated, hurt tornado, when my husband and I are arguing. It happens when fear is launched in full force at me, when the doctor says “it’s an incurable disease.” It happens when I don’t know, or feel uncertain, or can’t see what I need to in order to decide. When stress becomes the lord of my emotions, my emotions have the ability to steal Jesus from me.

Scripture has made it very clear that Jesus is the Prince of Peace (Isaiah 9:6). When I receive Jesus as Savior and acknowledge Him as the Lord of my life, I receive the Prince of Peace’s Peace.

John 14:27 (AMP)

27 Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]

Jesus has given me, His Peace. Sounds great and all, yet every time I face circumstances, such as those I listed above, I don’t feel peace, I feel fear, hurt, stress, and anger. I understand in my mind that I am a walking Peace container because Jesus lives in my heart. I truly believe it up until the moment my emotions start firing. Then what I feel becomes my god. Every time I face this, I feel as if Jesus is being stolen from me.

Why do my emotions seem so much more powerful then Jesus? As I am seeking the Lord in this, I am beginning to understand that I cannot serve two masters (Matt 6:24). When I try to do this, by loving God but honoring my emotions as the highest standard of measure for my life, I love one master while despising the other.

My emotions are God given to me, they are meant to reveal my heart but not to lead me.  How I feel about something, locates my heart and what I value. How I feel comes directly from what I am thinking on. If I am arguing with my husband, my thoughts are “I right, he is wrong.” No wonder my emotion kick Jesus off the throne of my heart and puts me in the judgment seat. It is my choice.

When the doctor tells me I have a disease, I believe what he says is the absolute truth. All my thoughts line up with what the doctor tells me. My emotions have no other choice but to produce fruit consistent with my thoughts, which is fear and despair.

John 14:27 (AMP)

27 Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]

The answer is clear; God has given me power over my heart. I have power over what I think, what I feel and what I will. When my emotions rise up with a feeling that is contrary to the Peace that Jesus has given me what do I need to do?

Colossians 3:15 (AMP)

15 And let the peace (soul harmony which comes) from Christ rule (act as umpire continually) in your hearts [deciding and settling with finality all questions that arise in your minds, in that peaceful state] to which as [members of Christ’s] one body you were also called [to live]. And be thankful (appreciative), [giving praise to God always].

Remember that Jesus is the Prince of Peace. So, I am to let Jesus (what He thinks and what He says as revealed by His Spirit and His Word) umpire my life continually.  In order to do this I must know Him. What Jesus says, is my first and highest standard of measure. I acknowledge what my emotions are feeling, by bringing them to Jesus and pouring out all the fear, hurt, pain and anger to Him. This acknowledges that Jesus is the Lord of my life and the ruler of all parts of me.  It puts my emotions in place and allows Jesus the throne of my heart.

As I am putting this into practice, I see less and less of Jesus, my peace being stolen. I see more balance and even tempered moments in the midst of crisis. The gift of Jesus in my life is mine.

Romans 11:29(AMP)

29 For God’s gifts and His call are irrevocable. [He never withdraws them when once they are given, and He does not change His mind about those to whom He gives His grace or to whom He sends His call.]

The strategy of Satan is to steal, kill and destroy (John 10:10). He is my enemy and wants to do everything in his power to steal all that God has given me. This includes Jesus and all that He has accomplished for me. Today, I am recognizing this and through the power of God and by His grace I am learning to overcome the enemy.  I make a choice to keep all that Jesus has given me, by not allowing my heart to by agitated, disturbed or fearful. When those emotions come, and they most certainly do, I allow His Holy Spirit to govern me. I seek the Lord on how to deal with those emotions. I allow the Holy Spirit in me to train me in the way I should go, this includes, expressing my emotions and thinking thoughts.  This is what allowing the “Peace of God in me acts as umpire continually” looks like in my life.  When God’s Word has the final say in my life, I always have peace.

Comments on: "Stealing Jesus" (5)

  1. Reblogged this on set your paths straight and commented:
    Have you ever experienced a “hurt tornado”? I appreciate this blog from fellow blogger Jenni – as she is spot on about how the hurts in our hearts can Steal Jesus from our lives. A great reminder and to clear the emotional clutter for a straight pathway to our Lord’s door.

    • jennisahagun said:

      Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention again by re-blogging it. Tis the season for lots of hurt…..I felt the holy spirit ministering to my heart all over again as I re-read this. Although I wrote it, I needed to read it again. Jesus is really the reason for this season in my life. 🙂

      • I just re read this tonight…I want you to know that whatever is going on for you, I am covering you in prayer. God has built strong “spiritual muscles” in you…now is the time to use them again…do not let your Jesus be stolen by a prowling animal looking to devour your peace. He who is in JENNI is greater than he who is in the world. Blessings on you.

  2. Just what I needed. I’m forever working on my reactions to situations. I’m always quick to blow up and make myself heard, most of the time yelling and feeling that I’m right and not hearing the other person(my husband) share an opinion or different point of view. I feel condemned, when that is not always the case. I really need prayers on this. You devotions always speak to me and bring me reassurance. I’m so thankful that God has put you here in my life.

    Dana

    • jennisahagun said:

      Dana, we are working on the same things. That must be why God has brought us together. I am so glad you are in my life too. Thank you for encouraging me.

Leave a Reply

