My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

The Truth Quest

https://i2.wp.com/www.bipps.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/social_media_truth.jpg

DEFINING TRUTH:

I have been Truth questing. Here is what I have learned about this word.

1. Jesus is the Truth

John 14:6       Jesus said to him, I am the Way and the Truth and the Life; no one comes to the Father except by (through) Me.

2. The Word of God is Truth

Psalm 119:160      The sum of Your word is truth [the total of the full meaning of all Your individual precepts]; and every one of Your righteous decrees endures forever.

3. The more I know Jesus, the Truth, and His Word, the more freedom I have.

John 8:32      And you will know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free.

4. God desires us to know and understand Him in our inner selves.

Psalm 51:6      Behold, You desire truth in the inner being; make me therefore to know wisdom in my inmost heart.

5. Our lives are meant to be showcases for His loving Truth, Jesus.

Ephesians 4:15       Rather, let our lives lovingly [a]express truth [in all things, speaking truly, dealing truly, living truly]. Enfolded in love, let us grow up in every way and in all things into Him Who is the Head, [even] Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

1 John 3:18      Little children, let us not love [merely] in theory or in speech but in deed and in truth (in practice and in sincerity).

Ephesians 4:25      Therefore, rejecting all falsity and being done now with it, let everyone express the truth with his neighbor, for we are all parts of one body and members one of another.

6. Those who have intimate relationship with Jesus, the Truth, are His friends and hear and obey His voice.

John 18:37      Pilate said to Him, Then You are a King? Jesus answered, You say it! [You speak correctly!] For I am a King. [Certainly I am a King!] This is why I was born, and for this I have come into the world, to bear witness to the Truth. Everyone who is of the Truth [who is a friend of the Truth, who belongs to the Truth] hears and listens to My voice.

7. We must know Jesus, the Truth in order to worship God.

John 4:24       God is a Spirit (a spiritual Being) and those who worship Him must worship Him in spirit and in truth (reality).

8. God wants us to reproduce Jesus, the Truth, in our lives.

Ephesians 6:14      Stand therefore [hold your ground], having tightened the belt of truth around your loins and having put on the breastplate of integrity and of moral rectitude and right standing with God,

9. God wants us to accurately know and practice His Truth.

1 Timothy 2:4     Who wishes all men to be saved and [increasingly] to perceive and recognize and discern and know precisely and correctly the [divine] Truth.

UNDERSTANDING TRUTH

The Lord is teaching me to know Him as the absolute Truth. As I am learning to walk that out in my life, I am beginning to understand that speaking one’s opinion is not the same as speaking the truth. Just because my senses, all five tell me what I am feeling, and thinking is true, it is often not His truth. Often it seems to me, that nature, circumstances and all my senses are in cahoots to distract me from His Truth.

What is becoming my absolute Truth is what Jesus would think, do, or say, in my situation. This requires me to know Him and His word. It is more than just memorizing scripture; it is knowing the One who gives the scripture. This is not a duty or a chore, but a joy to my heart.

1 John 5:3      For the [true] love of God is this: that we do His commands [keep His ordinances and are mindful of His precepts and teaching]. And these orders of His are not irksome (burdensome, oppressive, or grievous).

Being mindful of His precepts? That is the least of my thoughts when my emotions are high and loud. What Jesus would do, often is not what I would do in any shape or form. If I can just get past my own opinion, which often feels like the absolute truth, to obeying the Lord, there is so much reward. But how? That is the question that I have been seeking the Lord for.

APPLYING TRUTH

2 Thessalonians 2:9-12 

9 The coming [of the lawless one, the antichrist] is through the activity and working of Satan and will be attended by great power and with all sorts of [pretended] miracles and signs and delusive marvels—[all of them] lying wonders—

10 And by unlimited seduction to evil and with all wicked deception for those who are perishing (going to perdition) because they did not welcome the Truth but refused to love it that they might be saved.

11 Therefore God sends upon them a misleading influence, a working of error and a strong delusion to make them believe what is false,

12 In order that all may be judged and condemned who did not believe in [who refused to adhere to, trust in, and rely on] the Truth, but [instead] took pleasure in unrighteousness.

WOW! One of the signs of the Antichrist is lack of love for the truth. As I was pondering this, I began to think about how our society as a whole values knowledge. We are encouraged to learn, learn, learn, yet little is said about doing.

I personally, love learning. At one time, I truly desired to be a midwife, so consequently I love anything that has to do with birthing. So, I often watch shows about birthing and I will read articles and such. Since I have had four children of my own and been at several deliveries of friends and family, I feel like a little bit of an expert. However, knowing something and being able to practice it are two very different things. To date, I have never delivered a baby. I am not a midwife or a doctor. My expertise is false. Who would want a “couch” midwife to deliver their baby? Not me, I want the midwife that has the education and the experience to back it up.

A midwife or doctor is one who daily practices what they know. This is what a Truth lover should look like. It is taking Jesus, all that He is and practicing Him every day. In order to do this, I must have a passion for Him. A passion to know Him and understand Him. This is something I have been asking the Lord for.

What I am seeing is that the places I know the truth about God and His ways, but I don’t put it into practice, are the very places I stumble. The one Truth I keep hearing as I study this is the importance of obeying what I know God says. Obeying has never been my strong suit. Then the Lord began to show me something that changed my heart. Demons know Him and His Word, they are lawless because they don’t practice what they know. In fact, Satan was in heaven when he disobeyed. Ouch! It is not enough to know Jesus I must have actions that show it.

LIVING TRUTH

John 14:15    If you [really] love Me, you will keep (obey) My commands.

Jesus is my living Truth. He is alive in me and to me. He is not off somewhere but living in me every moment. Yes, I love the Lord, and yes, I often disobey. That is the truth, He knew I would. That is why He has provided me help. Our relationship is always evolving and growing.

John 16:7

7 However, I am telling you nothing but the truth when I say it is profitable (good, expedient, advantageous) for you that I go away. Because if I do not go away, the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Advocate, Intercessor, Strengthener, Standby) will not come to you [into close fellowship with you]; but if I go away, I will send Him to you [to be in close fellowship with you].

13 But when He, the Spirit of Truth (the Truth-giving Spirit) comes, He will guide you into all the Truth (the whole, full Truth). For He will not speak His own message [on His own authority]; but He will tell whatever He hears [from the Father; He will give the message that has been given to Him], and He will announce and declare to you the things that are to come [that will happen in the future].

14 He will honor and glorify Me, because He will take of (receive, draw upon) what is Mine and will reveal (declare, disclose, transmit) it to you.

Living out Truth requires I depend on His Holy Spirit. There is no truth in me apart from Him. God so desires me to know the Truth that He gave it to me in the form of Jesus and the Holy Spirit. Through Jesus I receive all the ability I need to recognize the Truth, to apply it and live it out. Daily, He is helping me grow. As I gird my soul, my thoughts, emotions and words with His Truth, I see His Truth reproduced in my life.

My heart desire is to let my life, lovingly express Him in all ways, in all spheres. This goal is totally outside of my ability and skill. This requires me to depend on Him for all that I am. So, my Truth quest continues on, because the more Truth I know and practice, the more Jesus expands in me. I can never fit Jesus, but He always fits me. He is becoming MY WAY, MY TRUTH, and MY LIFE.

Comments on: "The Truth Quest" (3)

  1. Nicolette said:

    Again, you inspire me!

  2. LOVE THIS POST! Excellent compilation of the TRUTH. In a relative world, this is wisdom for all and for the ages. Just wish I could POST it on the front page of the Washington Post (with a cc: to Capitol Hill). Great job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

