Home

Being Simple

psalm119_130

Psalm 119:130  (AMP)

130 The entrance and unfolding of Your words give light; their unfolding gives understanding (discernment and comprehension) to the simple.

For a long time now I have thought of myself as simple. By simple I mean child like in my faith and really my method of living.  I simply want to be the best Jenni by fulfilling His purpose in my life with all that I am. I am simple also in my tastes; I love the Lord and His Word. Much of my time is taken in reading His word, studying and learning of Him. It is one of my greatest joys.  I am not book learned or school educated when it comes to seeking the Lord. I totally do it free style. He provokes my heart with a thought or an idea and I am off and running after Him in study.  I sometimes feel bad because I don’t feel qualified. Then I realize it is not about me, my credentials and learning do not matter to Him, only my heart does. I simply and plainly acknowledge that there is nothing good in me apart from Christ.

So when I think of myself as simple, it is not an insulting but a place of encouragement to me. I simply seek the Lord.  It has become a place of identity. Simply all that I am, comes from Him, His way of thinking and His way of doing, this is my life aim.

This scripture was brought to my heart as I was asking the Lord about this way of thinking I have. Oh how I love His Word! At first glance as I read this I wondered at His Word having to be unfolded. Not only am I to let His Word have entrance, to grant permission to all that He is, but also I must allow His Word to be unfolded.  What is unfolding? It is bit by bit being able to see Him in clear vision. I must learn to see the whole Jesus picture, or as much as my simple self can receive.

Of course, I had to look up the words in Hebrew but I also read a commentary that struck my heart.

This is taken from Barnes Notes on the Bible found on Biblehub.com

The entrance of thy words giveth light – The Septuagint translates this, “the manifestation (or declaration) – ἡ δήλωσις hē dēlōsis – of thy words enlightens.” So the Vulgate. Luther renders it, “When thy word is revealed, so it delivers us, and makes the simple wise.” DeWette, “The opening (revelation) of thy word,” etc. The Hebrew word – פתח pethach – means an “opening” or “entrance” – as of a gate, Joshua 20:4; Judges 9:35; and then “a door,” as of a tent or the temple, Genesis 18:1; 1 Kings 6:8; or the gate of a city, Isaiah 3:26; and then it means opening, insight, instruction. The word as used here seems to denote the opening or unfolding of the word of God; the revelation of that word to the mind. A door is open so that we enter into a house; a gate, so that we enter into a city; and thus the meaning of the word of God is “opened” to us, so that we may, as it were, enter in and see its beauty. The language does not, therefore, denote the entrance of that word into the mind, but, its being made open to us so that we may perceive its beauty, or may ourselves “enter” into its meaning, its mysteries, and its beauties.

It giveth understanding unto the simple – The word rendered “simple” literally means “those who are open to persuasion,” or who are easily enticed or seduced. Then it refers to the credulous, Proverbs 14:15, and then to the “inexperienced.” See Psalm 19:7, note; Psalm 116:6, note.

Here is what I am learning as I read this scripture.  Jesus is the Word (John 1:1, 14).  Jesus is the door (John 10:7).  Jesus is the light (John 8:12). When I enter into knowing Jesus, I come because He draws me (John 6:44). I enter into His Word. It is not just some random words on a page entering into my mind. It is Him, Jesus. He is alive and powerful. Where He goes is light.  As I entered into Him and He enters into me, I begin to experience His aliveness.  As His word flows out of my heart and out of lips, the declaration of it opens the way for me to enter further into Him. Faith is built by hearing His word, when I declare it, my heart hears it in my own voice, and I believe it. I am persuaded to embrace what He says as truth.

This is not a name it claim it kind of faith, but rather a faith built on letting His word be absolute on my lips and in my heart. This is how this actually plays out in my simple life.

It begins with me seeking the Lord. The Lord bringing to my heart a scripture. I begin to study it and meditate on it. I pray it. For example, recently the Lord brought this scripture to my heart.

1 Samuel 9:23-24  (AMP)

23 And Samuel said to the cook, Bring the portion which I gave you, of which I said to you, Set it aside.

24 And the cook lifted high the shoulder and what was on it [indicating that it was the priest’s honored portion] and set it before Saul. [Samuel] said, See what was reserved for you. Eat, for until the hour appointed it was kept for you, ever since I invited the people. So Saul ate that day with Samuel.

Here Saul was just going about his father’s business, looking for lost donkeys, yet the man of God, Samuel had reserved the best part of the sacrifice for him. Saul was a normal Israelite, who God had reserved the kingdom of Israel for.  That is you and I, as we obey in our lives, God has reserved the best parts for us. He has planned for our welfare. He has a place of authority and rule for us.

As I read this, I clearly heard it as if the Lord was speaking it to me personally. It was alive and real. It was unfolded and made clear. The Lord has reserved for me for I need. There is nothing I face or would face that God had not planned for and reserved all that I needed. I needed to see it. All week-long I meditated on this, asking the Lord to help me see it. I spoke about it with all who would listen. I spoke it out loud in my prayers. Faith began to be built-in my heart. He began to show me scriptures about His ‘Reserves.”

Proverbs 2:6-7

For the Lord gives skillful and godly Wisdom; from His mouth come knowledge and understanding.

He hides away sound and godly Wisdom and stores it for the righteous (those who are upright and in right standing with Him); He is a shield to those who walk uprightly and in integrity,

Proverbs 13:22 (GW)

22 Good people leave an inheritance to their grandchildren,
but the wealth of sinners is stored away for a righteous person.

See, the Lord knew in about five days, I was going to face my car breaking down and a possibility that the head gaskets were bad. However, as this news was given me, all my heart could focus on was that God knew that this was going to happen and that He had set aside what I needed. I needed a lot. It is our only car and there is no money to repair it. I began to praise Him for His reservation for us and our car. I felt at peace about it. I had His light to see this dark situation and what was revealed was that God was in control and more than able to provide for us.

Ephesians 3:20-21 (AMP)

20 Now to Him Who, by (in consequence of) the [action of His] power that is at work within us, is able to [carry out His purpose and] do superabundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]—

The reservation that God has for us, was superabundantly, far over and above all that I dare ask or think. Within two days, His reservation took the form of a friend handing us an envelope with $500, because God told him to. He did not know that our car was having issues. Then, my job made a mistake in my pay and when I went to work  I found a check for $200 waiting for me.

Where I live it is very hard to get immediate service. All five of the places we called said they could not work on our van for two weeks. But God had a reservation for us. We are going to have our van fixed this Friday. Even more, our van needs a special part. It is quite expensive, but it just so happens that my dad found the part for half of the price and is shipping it to us. This cuts the cost of repair in half.

His word brought discernment, the ability to see the situation and the solution and to navigate to it. His word assured my heart and calmed my emotions. His word helped me to comprehend that nothing is too difficult for God, ever.

Being simple for me, is allowing my heart, mind and body to be totally persuaded that God is real! God is real! His Word, Jesus is real! As I humble my heart, submitting my understanding, comprehension and discernment to Him, my life is filled with light, which is Jesus unfolded.

If you are reading this, I pray that you would begin to see what God has reserved for you. For most assuredly it is wondrous!

4 thoughts on “Being Simple”

  1. Jenni:
    Thank you for sharing your wonder-fill testimony of how God provided an answer to your questions why you think as you do, which just blessed my heart. Your thinking is simply beautiful, my friend and it is filled with knowledge of His wisdom. Continue to share the light of God in your heart with us…we love this so much about you.

    Yes, we can walk assured in Christ’s love for us as believers and have the confidence that He is working on our behalf…that sometimes, God is preparing the heart of the one who He will use to show His favor through. Your car is vital to your family, especially with winter not far away! God knows our needs. It’s not easy sometimes to give our expectations fully to God, as you have so lovingly shared in your story, it show how God truly loves to be our provider in all things concerning our lives. Whether it be a great need or a simple question…he cares…and he is willing to meet us in our moment. God continue to bless you! Love…..Zoey

    My devotion for you:

    2 Corinthians 4:6

    “For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness, made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.” amen

    1. Zoey, I am often filled with wonder at how God provides. God has and continues to truly bless me, with life, with relationship with Him and with you. You are part of His light shining in my life. Thank you for being so bright. ❤ Jenni

  2. Jenni: We spoke about the car problem’s a few short days ago, and prayed about it too. You also spoke of your peaceful heart. Peaceful in the knowledge that God had a prevision for you. You did speak of this to me, and I did listen. My heart is overflowing with joy in the knowledge that you stood firm in your commitment to be obedient to Him, and learn as much as possible along the way. As I have told you before, your dedication and willingness to open your heart to ALL the possibilities/depth/breadth of our Living God, is something I aspire to be like. I know, at this very moment, you are shaking your pretty head at me, and saying..”It is He, not I.” I know this. But, as I have said, one has to make the CHOICE to be willing, to be obedient, to be patient. To learn, to study, to be open-hearted. I take none of the glory from our God, who deserves it and more. I do, though, want to thank you for being a living example of a life truly lived for GOD. I thank Him daily for bringing you into my life. ❤

    1. Awww….dearest Nicolette, Do you know how much you help me? Yes, you prayed with me and encouraged me too. I feel that this blessing is yours too, because you played a very vital part in helping me stand. Simply put, you are awesome! I am so very grateful for you! ❤

Leave a Reply

