Home

Canning days

canning party 047Recently one of my dear friends shared with me her canning experience. How she planned and studied to put up her garden produce. She spent much time, allocating many resources to this end. She put all her focus, all her supplies, all her vision to the task.

This morning as I woke up the Lord asked me, “What are you canning today?”   I had no plans to can anything. So of course my response was, “Huh?” Again the question was repeated to my heart. So I took the bait, “What am I canning today, Lord?”  Into my mind flashed my whole last week and I saw all the times I said, “I can’t….”

I was amazed to see that much of my day is spent is thinking I can’t. Often speaking I can’t. Much more than I want of my effort, time and resources are going into “I can’t.”

Philippians 4:13

13 I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who [a]infuses inner strength into me; I am [b]self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].

God gives me a whole new day, each day, to “can.”  I must set my heart with diligent focus, just as my friend did, to allow His recipe of “canning” to be produced in me. Every day, I can, because everyday He empowers me. Every situation I face, I can, because He makes me ready for anything and equal to anything through Him.

So today, and hopefully all my days, will be spent in thinking, speaking and doing all those things He says I can. He is making me an excellent “canner.”

3 thoughts on “Canning days”

  1. “Can”ning with Jesus…sounds like my kind of FUN!! I think your on to something here…hmmm, let me ponder this! (she digs around in cupboards) That’s it! Fruit of the Spirit…image the possibilities~! 😉

Leave a Reply

