Home

The Universal Translator

I am a Star Trek fan. I love it. My favorite is Enterprise but really I like them all. Recently, I was indulging myself with an hour of Star Trek when something caught my eye. It was the com badges they were wearing on their shirts that allowed them to hear whatever was being said in their language. What a wonderful gadget.

The more I thought about it the more the Lord brought to my heart something He was trying to teach me. What I find in myself and very often in others is that we listen according to our wounds.  My ears are tuned into my woundedness, which create a kind of grid that I hear through. Consequently, my listening is accented. This leads to misunderstanding and often more pain. When I try to hear what the other person is really saying all that comes through is my pain. So of course, I make judgement based upon what I hear. So even though I am trying to listen, what I hear is incorrect.

Revelation 2:7

7 He who is able to hear, let him listen to and give heed to what the Spirit says to the assemblies (churches). To him who overcomes (is victorious), I will grant to eat [of the fruit] of the tree of life, which is in the paradise of God.

He has given me the ability to hear but I must activate it. The longer I serve the Lord, the more I learn.  I am learning how to hear.  The first step for me, has been recognizing my hearing ability is impaired. I have been asking the Lord to heal my heart to hear His voice clearly and to hear others. I intentionally lean on the Holy Spirit to be my universal translator. So no matter what state my emotions are in, or what I perceive with my eyes, good or bad I can hear the Lord. This simple prayer has yielded much fruit in my life. I ask God to help me hear as I talk with my husband and with my children and coworkers. Time and time again, I am amazed at what He helps me hear and how it helps me and those in my life.

A random fact that I found as I was thinking and studying about this. Did you know that human ears grow your entire life? I had to laugh when I read this because truly, the Lord really wants me to grow in my listening ability. I also think it is interesting that as we grow older our hearing diminishes.  It is my quest to hear Him clearly now but also to grow in hearing Him all my life. So the older I grow, the more sensitive my hearing becomes to my Lord. Furthermore, as I grow in this to help others to hear.

So today I challenge you to ask the Lord to become your universal translator. To set aside your own understanding, past experiences, and hear Him. No more “wound listening,” hearing colored by the trauma in your life. Let the renewing of your mind also be the renewing of your listening skills. Let Him train you to hear through the discouragement, the rejection, the anger to the root of the issue. The universal translator, the Holy Spirit will always translate according to God’s word and plan. Think of it, to hear as God does? His Spirit in us has that ability and it is our job to grow into it.

John 8:47

47 Whoever is of God listens to God. [Those who belong to God hear the words of God.] This is the reason that you do not listen [to those words, to Me]: because you do not belong to God and are not of God or in harmony with Him.

Mark 4:24

24 And He said to them, Be careful what you are hearing. The measure [a][of thought and study] you give [to [b]the truth you hear] will be the measure [c][of virtue and knowledge] that comes back to you—and more [besides] will be given to you who hear.

5 thoughts on “The Universal Translator”

  1. Very good application of “Star Trek” principles! LOL (Yeh I am a big Star Trek fan myself…. the original version of course) Seriously, in your sense, the Lord is our great translator that opens our hearts and reveals to us the truths of His Word. Lord bless. Thanks for the posting.

  2. If I remember correctly…the Universal translators on their uniforms were built into the communicator pins worn by Starfleet personnel. Interesting that these were on the left side…over the heart.

    We can take a tip here from our Trekkie friends…perhaps, even though you might think you are listening…it’s always a good idea to dial into the right interpretation in the Word first and lean not unto our own understanding [style of listening]. Because, you might be very fluid in ” Ferengi” but that is not going to help you when standing in a battle with “Klingon’s”.

    Great analogy, my awesome Trekki…and of course…”live long and prosper”! ~Zoey

Leave a Reply

