Home

Farm chores…

A day doing outdoor chores can really give you a better perspective, or at least it did me. I have been doing a short study on the nine graces of the Fruit of the Spirit. Today, I purposed to help with stacking the wood for winter. Something I don’t really mind doing, if I am in the mood. That is where this story begins…getting me in the “mood”. As I got ready to work, I gave myself a good pep-talk…as if, right? But it really was necessary…so, it went something like this…”no procrastination”, amen. (isn’t it funny how we can be long in words for others, but not for ourselves?)

This conversation between myself and the Lord continues out the door to the wood stack. I am thinking well, Lord…I’m here working aren’t I? (I realize that I am having a conversation of one at this point.) As I begin to work, I run through the nine different types of graces …seeing which applies today. Yesterday, I had found more Peace in accomplishing a task, so I checked that off my list. It must be Love…thinking that my husband is so fortunate that I love him so much that I would be out here helping him stack this silly wood…look at me loving in YOU. Quickly, I realized how arrogant that sounded. No, this is another fruit, Lord isn’t it? (Wondering how the Holy Spirit was bringing this altogether.)

As I worked on my first wood stack, the calories I knew I would be burning started to spin like a slot machine in my mind…jackpot!!! Wow! That got me motivated again. The sunshine was streaming down and I was working up a sweat…cha-ching! This is when the Holy Spirit nudged at my heart, again. “Exercise is a reward.” Huh?, Lord. And then I thought of people who aren’t able to move, walk or exercise so freely. “Of course, Lord…the fruit is Patience.” Sorry, Lord…I do need more patience, you are right. I told my husband I was grateful to be able to help today and smiled. (He has learned to just say okay and nod.)

Shortly after, I saw this awesome bird land on the top of a mimosa tree in a field across the way…it was so pretty. I stood there calling out “pretty bird” as I admired it from the yard. My dog came running over to me with his ball wanting to play. He heard me cooing back to the bird. “What kind of bird is this?”, I asked my husband “it’s so pretty”, he said “not sure- looks like a Falcon, but it’s definitely a bird of prey…probably scoping out food.” Okay, cool. I threw the ball for the dog and off I went with the wheel barrel for my next load.

Working with a patient attitude is so much easier for us moody types. Then my promotion happened! I went from hauler of wood to stacker of the pile! I was feeling pretty good by now, so I took it on with gusto. It was a lot of wood to haul and stack (see pic). But I worked smart and paced myself. Finally, the last chuck of wood was hefted up and I was done! (see pic) My husband checked out the stack…no good, he said…this is going to fall in the front-end. No sooner had he said that…the landslide happened!!!!! Gone was my good mood. About 4 feet of wood slid off the front of the stack with my patience sliding with it. (see pic)

Both my husband and I morphed into spiting camels. “DONE!”…I said stomping off and “thank you but NO I am not redoing this!” As I stood inside the kitchen noshing down some grapes, I stomped to the back door (with a few choice comments under my breath) and put my boots on. I’m not a quitter, Lord. I am determined to fix this pile and get my patience back on. My husband came around the back of the house on the riding mower. I called out “what do I need to do? And how do I stack it right, AGAIN? He showed me. I said THANK YOU! As he was riding away I called out… “See, that is why I need you!!!” Oh, my goodness…that comment hit my heart like a train. I remembered something that I had heard somewhere…the first words you say out of your mouth, are important. I threw my arms up in the air and said…Yes, Lord that is what this has been about. Needing one another, actually more like patiently supporting each other. When applied [patience], I can haul my wood and [re]stack it too. I can focus and “get’r done!” Sometimes, we just need to know there is someone on our side. Yeah! I can’t [in a good way] wait for tomorrow for another opportunity to share the fruit of the spirit…Praise the Lord! ~Zoey2013-09-204

3 thoughts on “Farm chores…”

  1. Awwww….the student becomes the teacher…..I love this! You are allowing the Holy Spirit to teach you how to operate and Co-operate with Him. Now your lesson becomes one that teaches us. Awesome! The fruit that is being produce in you is high quality, bug free, disease free and oh so delicious! This article was absolutely delish!

  2. “Sometimes, we just need to know there is someone on our side. Yeah! I can’t [in a good way] wait for tomorrow for another opportunity to share the fruit of the spirit” AMEN Zoey. This is so true. I’ve seen many Christians able to stand in the midst of great trials when they knew just one other Christian stood with them. Likewise, I have seen many fall when there appeared to be no one to be at their side. Sadly, if we have our focus right, we can understand that our Lord is always with us and give us the ability to stand. But because of our fallen nature, forming partnerships with other Christians can be the needed encouragement to be victors in our service for Him.

    Thank you Zoey for another wonderful posting. May the Lord continue to bless you as you share His Word.

    1. Yes, I agree we have all fallen short of the Glory of God, sadly. I think what is important, is knowing that the promises in the word are given for our daily use, not just on certain days of the week or in crisis. Learning about our savior is a lifetime journey because He is the giver of LIFE eternal. When I read about Jesus and reflect back on his life, he called 12 men out of a crowd to join him. Most people have learned this story from childhood but the purpose is much deeper than what is on the surface.

      In what you have said: ” Sadly, if we have our focus right, we can understand that our Lord is always with us and give us the ability to stand. But because of our fallen nature, forming partnerships with other Christians can be the needed encouragement to be victors in our service for Him.”, so true is your statement. Because Jesus knew that it would mean the conversion of a single soul…not the conversion of population that would house his kingdom. (Lk.24) He also knew, that after his Resurrection and Ascension, his believers would need each other to continue His witness of salvation to the utter most parts of the world. That is one of the most beautiful passages in the scriptures…”I will never leave you or forsake you.”

      Thank you Pastor Rob, for continuing to bring God’s truth and wisdom…blessings! ~Zoey

Leave a Reply

