My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

CERTAIN HOPE

hebrews-6-19

Hebrews 6:18-19

18 This was so that, by two unchangeable things [His promise and His oath] in which it is impossible for God ever to prove false or deceive us, we who have fled [to Him] for refuge might have mighty indwelling strength and strong encouragement to grasp and hold fast the hope appointed for us and set before [us].

19 [Now] we have this [hope] as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul [it cannot slip and it cannot [a]break down under whoever steps out upon it—a hope] that reaches [b]farther and enters into [the very certainty of the Presence] within the veil,

According to this scripture we have MIGHTY INDWELLING STRENGTH and STRONG ENCOURAGEMENT to hold fast the hope appointed for us and set before us.  My strength feels far from mighty. Yet as I read this, my heart swells. God has appointed a hope for me and set it before me. I have a definite hope filled aim.  I know from scripture that Jesus, because of the hope of the joy set before Him, endure the cross. His soul was anchored in the hope of the joy that God would accept His sacrifice and would redeem all mankind. It was not a generic hope or a vague one. It was this focused with intensity hope that motivated His every second and enabled Him to obey unto death.

Jesus knew God to be the absolute truth. This anchored His human soul. It must be what anchors our souls too. God will never prove false in my life or yours! There are so many emotions, wounds and shifts in perception in our lives.  We may feel the currents yanking us in every direction, yet His Holy Spirit holds us securely anchored to Him in hope. It is our sure expectation that God is the absolute truth. We may not be able to enter into heaven at this moment, but we are anchored in Christ, not adrift or lost. No matter how our souls, our emotions, our minds or wills rage, our beings are securely held with full expectation of being face to face with our beloved Lord. He is our absolutely certain Hope!

Father,

I pray for us, that we would have our souls anchored only in Your hope. Help us to look away from all that diminishes or distracts us from your Hope. Help us to recognize all the places that our souls are anchored in the wrong things and to repent and re-anchor in You. Help us to have the sure expectation that You are who You say You are and that You will do what You say You will. You have given us mighty indwelling strength to hold onto You and the hope that You have appointed for us. Help us to seize Your Hope. Let’s us walk in the revelation of the Hope of Christ.

Psalm 39:7

And so, Lord, my only hope is in you.

Comments on: "CERTAIN HOPE" (6)

  1. Beautiful!!

  2. This is a fabulous post. I love how you said that Christ had a ‘focused with intensity’ kind of hope. Thanks for the reminder that through Him we have access to this kind of hope. Blessings

  3. For many years I have had this visual in my mind of me in a tiny boat in a vast sea…sometimes calm and some times ferocious, the “sea” a metaphor for life, can overwhelm me. In that vision, I can also see the anchor that runs into the depths of the water and holds me fast to safety among huge rocks and underwater mountains. I know that it is my life-line… I know it is Jesus….without whom, I would truly be shipwrecked. I enjoy your blogs, they paint word pictures of encouragement to me in my heart and mind. Thanks for that. 🙂

    • Thank you for sharing with us your visual. It is exactly what I see for myself. I used to dream all the time about Tsunamis hitting the shore where I was and destroying everything but me. Of course it was the turmoil I was facing in my soul at the moment. So, knowing that Jesus is my anchor, my hope in Him securely tethering me, has assured me and stabilized me. So I may still rock and roll but my course is established and fixed. His purpose in me always stands.

  4. No better Hope there is, than in the love of Jesus. Bless you for the “Life Boat”… ~Zoey

  5. Amen to that for sure! A tremendous encouragement. Thanks. : )

Leave a Reply

