My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Cultivating Humility

IMG_2491

Humility is not something we are born with. It is something we must be taught. Lately, I am recognizing that my ideas of humility may not be the same as God’s. It is time for me to intentionally focus on learning Godly humility. So, I believe God has started a quest in my heart.  It is a quest to cultivate His humility. This is an active intent that is so much more than just asking for it.  I must seek Him and let Him teach me what His humility looks like, feels like and actually is.  I must practice it. That means I must face situations that require me to use humility………bring on the trials! On they came!

Many years ago, I remember setting in a church service and hearing the pastor say, “The most humble thing you could do is agree with God’s word.”  Up until then my idea of humility looked very self-effacing and self-deprecating.  I felt like it was very humble to think less and speak less of myself. However, as I begin to read God’s word, I begin to see what God said about me, my humility perspective changed.  It went from “Jenni who is less than everyone, worthless, of little value, to Jenni highly valued and greatly loved and totally worthy because of Christ.” So, instead of Jenni’s brand of humility, I traded it for the mind of Christ and the absolute truth.

For me, the absolute Truth of humility is what is God’s way or heart for this situation.  In the trials I have faced, I have found this way of thinking to be my safe guard, a kind of alert to when I am stepping into pride or Jenni’s way of humility, which is pride too.

Philippians 2:5-11

5 Let this same attitude and purpose and [humble] mind be in you which was in Christ Jesus: [Let Him be your example in humility:]

Who, although being essentially one with God and in the form of God [[a]possessing the fullness of the attributes which make God God], did not [b]think this equality with God was a thing to be eagerly grasped [c]or retained,

But stripped Himself [of all privileges and [d]rightful dignity], so as to assume the guise of a servant (slave), in that He became like men and was born a human being.

And after He had appeared in human form, He abased and humbled Himself [still further] and carried His obedience to the extreme of death, even the death of the cross!

Therefore [because He stooped so low] God has highly exalted Him and has [e]freely bestowed on Him the name that is above every name,

10 That in (at) the name of Jesus every knee [f]should (must) bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth,

11 And every tongue [[g]frankly and openly] confess and acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Cultivating humility begins with knowing and practicing the attitude of Christ.  His whole heart was to do the will of His father. This required Him to know God’s will but more than that, to have a good understanding of it so that He could practice it.

John 6:38    For I have come down from heaven not to do My own will and purpose but to do the will and purpose of Him Who sent Me.

Jesus was one with God…how powerful a concept is that? The whole time He was here on earth, He must have thought about that oneness. About the privileges He had laid aside to come to earth as man.  What did that look like? Did Jesus wonder why He was here instead of God or the Holy Spirit? Jesus had His own mind. He had His own thoughts. Perhaps, He had a different idea of how salvation should look. Did He question why God really sent Him? Or how God was doing things? I don’t know for sure but I do know scripture says of Jesus that He was tempted in every way we are. It seems to be a constant human temptation to question God from a place of pride and unbelief.

Hebrews 4:15    For we do not have a High Priest Who is unable to understand and sympathize and have a shared feeling with our weaknesses and infirmities and liability to the assaults of temptation, but One Who has been tempted in every respect as we are, yet without sinning.

I think Jesus faced these thoughts, but never gave place to them. When they came, because scripture clearly says that He was tempted in every respect as we are, He didn’t sin because of one very important thing…..His humility. He valued God’s will highest above all else. This is the attitude I see in Jesus. He willingly laid aside His perspective, His rights, His needs and practice the will of God completely. This is what true humility looks like.

True humility is always followed by complete and total obedience to God’s way. Jesus obeyed unto death. Extreme death.  We can gauge our humility level by how quickly we obey God’s will in each situation. True humility is not something we can do by ourselves. It requires the submission of our hearts to God and His power at work in us. It is something we have to ask for and then depend on Him to teach us. It is an ever ongoing process. It must be a constant and intentional focus of our heart to seek Him first and His way of doing, thinking and being. This intentional cultivation of Godly humility always leads to a harvest of Godly honor in our lives. God honors us as we honor Him.

In a side note, I find it amazing, that we as humans have the ability to have the same attitude that Christ did. God would not say, “let this same attitude be in you that was in Christ Jesus,” if it were not possible. You and I have the ability to think, speak, and act like Christ. WOW! Double WOW! Humility is in our ability, in our reach. No matter how much pride we have…..we have the ability to have Christ’s attitude. So I commit to questing to cultivate Christ’s attitude in my life…..wanna join me?

  humility-part-21

Comments on: "Cultivating Humility" (2)

  1. Godhasnolimit said:

    What a great post! God really spoke through you Jenni!

  2. I love that your Pastor said true humility is agreeing with God’s word. I will remember that! God bless!

Leave a Reply

