My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

A Teachable Moment

1cor1-31ume1

As I am growing in the Lord, I find that I have so much capacity to learn. I have set my heart to be taught of the Lord. This has opened the way for many teachable moments in my life. One of which recently occurred during our family devotions.  God spoke to me through my children. I would like to share their devotions and what I learned with you.

I would like to share my daughter’s first. This is straight out of her journal:

SCRIPTURE: 1 Cor. 1:3,6

3 May God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ give you grace and peace.

6 Our witness about Christ has been proved to be true in you.

OBSERVATION:

You would feel very happy to hear the words, “Christ has been proved in you!”

APPLICATION:

I want grace and peace from the Lord. I want to prove that Christ is true in me. He is already helping me.

PRAYER:

Dear God, Thank you for everything you do in my life. Help me prove these things in you.

Here is what I learned. My life is His witness! Simple statement yet so profound. My life is His truth proving ground. Just as my daughter so sweetly asked the Lord to prove Himself true in her, so too, is that the cry of my heart.  All week that has been my prayer. Let my life be filled with your grace and with your peace as I allow your truth to reign in my inner most heart.

God was not finished with my teachable moment. Here is my son’s devotion on that same day.

SCRIPTURE: 1 Cor 1:31

1 Therefore as it is written, “Let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.”

OBSERVATION:

Boast in the things that are of the Lord or don’t boast at all. If you boast just to get a response you are not boasting in the Lord.

APPLICATION:

I will boast in the Lord at ALL TIMES! Boasting just to show off is focusing on the wrong thing.

PRAYER:

Lord, please help me to boast in you. I want to let you flow through my heart, mind and mouth. Help me not to boast for my own pleasing.

To prove the truth of God in my heart, I must boast in the right things…..the things of the Lord. What I boast of, shows what I am focused on. What a child like heart it takes to ask the Lord to teach him to boast. Again, I stole this pray for my life.

Lord,  teach me what boasting in you looks like as you continue to prove your truth in me. Let my life be your witness of truth. Thank you for always teaching me and training me in the way I should go. Help me to boast in you at all times!

Comments on: "A Teachable Moment" (4)

  1. Jenni:

    Well, I just love everything about this devotion…just as I love everything about you and your family. What I see here are how Jesus will lift you up…when you lift Him up in every day moments! Your children as so precious in His sight, thank you for raising such conscientious hearts for our Lord. Bless your family in the name of our Lord, Jesus Christ. amen. ~Zoey

  2. Godhasnolimit said:

    Yes, my sister Jenni, what a wonderful prayer to share. Lord please help me to boast in you at all times. When I read what you have written Jenni I think of Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. God Blessings!

  3. We certainly can learn much from your precious children! Thanks for sharing Zoey.

Leave a Reply

