My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Rejoice In Today!

464

This is a guest blog by Noami Sahagun:

This is the day the Lord has made!

Some would say that patience is not my strongest virtue. In fact, many have called my generation (born in the early 80s) the “now” generation. We want everything NOW! I have patience for certain things. If my 15 month old is being fussy and is clearly upset about something, I can find all the patience in the world to sit and figure out what he needs. However, if a friend is 5 minutes late for a lunch date, my patience quickly wears thin.

I am currently 39 weeks pregnant and due any day. If there were ever a true test of patience, it’s being pregnant and not knowing the exact day your precious little baby will come into the world. 40 weeks is a LONG time to wait. From the moment you find out you are expecting, you begin counting down the months till you will hold your baby in your arms. And, the last few weeks can become excruciatingly long as you sit around wondering “is today the day?”.

This is my second pregnancy and it feels like it’s taking twice as long to get to the finish line. People keep commenting that they can’t believe it’s already October, and I think to myself “are you kidding me? October couldn’t come here fast enough!”

Then it dawned on me the other day, as I was impatiently sitting around the house, hoping that I would feel signs of labor…in the midst of me constantly looking ahead to the future, what have I missed in the present? I have been so focused on the excitement of meeting my baby that I have not stopped to appreciate, enjoy and soak in the day-to-day blessings along the way. The kicks, hiccups, tumbling, and hearing the heartbeat at each doctor visit. There is a miracle growing inside of me, perfectly fashioned and molded by the Creator, and all I can think about is “is today the day?”

Sadly, this is an area I’ve struggled with most of my life. I am always thinking about the future and not taking the time to enjoy the present. Vacations are a great example of this. I am so busy thinking about the end of the vacation and dreading going back to work, that I can’t even enjoy being on vacation! I forget to be in the moment. I do this with my son as well. I find myself looking forward to his upcoming milestones and developmental breakthroughs. I can’t wait till he can do this…I can’t wait till he can say this…I can’t wait till he’s past this stage.

There is a great line from the movie, “Kungfu Panda”. The main character, Po, is talking to a wise old Kungfu master about life’s great mysteries. And the master says to him, “Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift…that’s why they call it present.” How many “gifts” have I pushed aside without even opening them? Too many, I’m sure.

Psalm 118:24 says, “this is the day which the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Let us not be so consumed by the worries, hopes, and dreams for the future that we forget to rejoice in TODAY!

Leave a Reply

