Home

Faith Resolutions and Aims

time

As I am finishing off 2013, my heart, by the Holy Spirit is being tuned up and calibrated for 2014.

According to John 16:13 where Jesus is sharing about the function of the Holy Spirit, He says And He will announce and declare to you the things that are to come [that will happen in the future].” God knows my future. He knows what I will need and when. I am not sure when exactly that I stopped making New Year’s goals but some time ago I began to seek God’s heart for my New Year resolutions.

A resolution is a firm decision that determines course of action. I have learned the hard way, no matter how good the intention unless it is led by the Lord it will fail in me. For many years now, I have sought the Lord for a Scripture to meditate the whole year. A Word to stand on. This discipline has changed my identity and has enabled me to overcome so many things. It started with just one scripture but as I am growing and my heart is more humbled into good ground, He plants more and more seeds in me. This has become what I called my New Year’s faith resolution and aims.

Faith is what pleases God. My highest heart is to please God. To grow in the measure of faith that He has given me. So, I go into this New Year, 2014 asking the Lord what I can believe in faith for. I make a firm decision that all my courses of action will be rooted in Him and His Word. I intentionally stop to seek Him first.

Here it is for 2014:

armor

2 Samuel 22:33 (KJV)

33 God is my strength and power: and he maketh my way perfect.

My Resolution:

To let God be my absolute Source of power and strength. Not to depend on my own ability, understanding and strength. To intentionally see myself receiving His power(His ability to) and His strength(His endurance and consistency). I set my heart to believe that He is making my way God perfect.

My Aim:

I will do this by allowing His Word to dominate my thoughts, my words, and my actions. I will meditate His Word, I will pray His Word, I will speak His Word, I will praise His Word and worship with His Word. I will (with His help) keep His ability, His power and His strength as the focus of my heart.  I will do this by being aware of what I am thinking and taking my thoughts captive to His Word. So no matter what I am facing, how hard, how impossible, how difficult, my focus will be on God’s ability not on mine. I will pray the solution. God is my Source.

strength

Joel 2:11 (AMP)

11 And the Lord utters His voice before His army, for His host is very great, and [they are] strong and powerful who execute [God’s] word. For the day of the Lord is great and very terrible, and who can endure it?

My Resolution:

I will execute God’s word. I set my heart to obey completely and totally. I will listen, I will hear Him and I will walk out His commands.

My Aim:

I will diligently cultivate an obedient heart by renewing my mind to God’s Words and thus God’s way. I will be aware of how I am listening and how I am seeing. I will cultivate a teachable heart. I will always leave room in my opinions and actions for God to course correct and attitude adjust. I will practice, practice, and practice what I am learning so it becomes real. I will be a doer of the Word. I may fail but God will continually be my helper and help me accomplish His Word. I will trust Him to make me the over comer Jesus is. When I fail I will own it, repent it, pray over it, and reconcile it (Thank you Set your paths straight).

before

Psalm 16:8 (AMP)

I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.

11 You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy, at Your right hand there are pleasures forevermore.

 My Resolution:

I will allow my heart to be focused on my Lord, consistently, daily, with constant discipline.  I will tune my heart to Him. I will focus my heart with His Word. He will draw me into relationship with Him, closer and closer that I will always feel Him at my right hand. God has a path that is marked just for me. His life permeates that path. He will help me to know and understand what that path is. As I walk on in His path, my joy shall be totally filled for He shall be my companion, my leader, my rear guard. I shall be yoked with Him.

My Aim:

Develop laser focus on my Lord by cultivating my vision to always turn to Him. I will do this by letting Him teach me in the way I should go…to study, to listen to, to fellowship with those He has destined to enrich, and sharpen me. To think about Him, to imagine, to dream, to create in Him and through Him. I allow Him to permeate every nook and cranny of my being…..all my heart, all my soul, all my mind. To allow Him to heal those places I am broken and cannot hold Him in fidelity. To trust Him with all that I am. Even those places I don’t understand or know.

light

Psalm 31:15 (AMP)

15 My times are in Your hands; deliver me from the hands of my foes and those who pursue me and persecute me.

My Resolution:

Trusting God with time, all my time, not just the moments I can understand and discern. God is faithful in all my moments. Anxiety is my foe that rises up when I am uncertain but I will trust God to deliver me from its grip.

My Aim:

To remind myself of this constantly, that God is in charge of the timing in my life and His plan is perfect. Especially when I can’t discern the next step we are to take. I will remind myself that God has our times in His hands and will reveal what we need to know when we need to know it.

This year will hold many unknowns for our family. We will be moving out-of-state. We don’t know exactly how, exactly when or even where. There are so many impediments to this and yet we know God is calling us, destining us. As I contemplate this, it tries to overwhelm me yet I will stand on my God-given resolutions and practice the aims. Great is my peace for my heart trusts the Lord.

paths

1 thought on “Faith Resolutions and Aims”

Leave a Reply

