Home

The Sahagun’s Faith Adventures

set your mind on things above

The Sahagun’s Faith Adventures:

I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.

Psalm 16:8

Once there was a family, who loved the Lord and set their hearts to follow Him. This following was hard as it cost them their business, their home and their lifestyle. They were uprooted from all friends and family and transplanted 1400 miles away to a cold flat place called Minot. They arrived with no home, but a God given place to stay.  God had prepared every detailed. All their needs were met. It was a nerve wracking season that was filled with faith building moments. Great was our conviction and peace in that process.

Now He has called them to return to Oregon. You would think our family, having already been through such a huge process of change and God having met all our needs would be ready for this. Not so. As we stand on this precipice of gigantic change, my heart trembles in fear. The “what ifs” are overwhelming. They seem so much greater this time. Yet I know the rhythm of this journey…..God confirming His calling, us preparing and us going and trusting Him to provide all that is needed in our going. So what has changed?

I have changed. In the time before, I was so desperate that my heart was continually turned to Him. So He was at my right hand and I was not moved. Not when my husband left with our only car and most of our money to go work 1400 miles away. Not when that time turned into four months of separation that included his birthday, our daughter’s birthday, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Not when I had no car, or no groceries. Not when I had to list our home, we built together and sell it.  Not even when I had to pack up my home and go with no clue where we would live or how we could afford it. God was my source. He was my right hand. He enabled me to move without being moved. He stabilized my emotions and encouraged my heart.

Fast forward to now. I am somewhat comfortable. We struggle here but I have grown accustomed to that struggle. I know it. In fact it is always before me. I see it; I think about it, I meditate on how to make our lives work. It has become the “lord” of my thoughts.

As I review my 2013 I am taking note of all the results. What I see are many places where the results are honoring to my Lord. Where I grew in faith and love.  I see places my aim is skewed. However, I also see places not to my satisfaction or His. As I prayed about this the Holy Spirit brought this scripture to my heart.

Colossians 3:1-2

3 If then you have been raised with Christ [to a new life, thus sharing His resurrection from the dead], aim at and seek the [rich, eternal treasures] that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.

And set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth.

 What I set before me, I see, I progress toward, I aim at. This last year has been so busy that my “setting time” has been greatly lessened. What I set before me was learning a new job, making ends meet, meeting the needs of those I love. In between those things, and sometimes in the midst of those things, I sought the Lord. The cares of my daily life fill my vision and are what is set continually before me. My daily life often became my “lord.” I have allowed the cares of this world to choke out those times of setting for me.

Instead of being yoked to Jesus, because He was at my right hand, as I faced trials, I became yoked with worry, with stress and pressure. Not always but way to often for all that I have learned. Because I was yoked to the wrong things, my heart was often moved from the promises of God I know and stand on.

Now, in 2014 I face a huge challenge. It is keeping the Lord as my setting. We are planning a move to Oregon in Junish. We don’t know where, or how, or when but we do know we are going. In the natural realm it seems impossible and illogical. God’s perfect recipe for faith.  The problem is my faith, since my setting has been off it is more easily moved from faith to fear. There seems more things to fear then to rejoice and be grateful for.

So for 2014, I,  Jenni Sahagun, with great conviction and purposed intention, set the Lord, by allowing my mind to be unceasingly and habitually brought into agreement with Him for His plan in my life, continually before me. I allow Him to walk at my right hand, by allowing Him to bring me into unity with Him, giving me His mind for this season in my life. As I face the trials of this New Year, I shall not totter, hesitate or stumble because my focus is intently on my Lord, Who knows where I walk and where I need to go. I will move without being moved from God’s word for this next big faith adventure.

I encourage you to look at what you are setting before you. Where is your mind resting? Is it the hopelessness of your situation? Is it continual lack? Is it a feeling of constant rejection and helplessness? Is it depression or sickness? Let 2014 be a year of new setting for you. A new mind set or a recalibration, one that sparkles in total agreement with His word for you and roots your heart and sets your aim. May God be at your right hand and may you not be moved from Him.

3 thoughts on “The Sahagun’s Faith Adventures”

  1. Jenni: I am utterly overjoyed in the knowledge that you again are walking in faith and obedience with Jesus. I remember the struggles you had in the past 18 months or so. I am happy you have been released from where you are at, and are able to move closer to home. I look forward to visiting you there, and taking photo’s of all the trees!
    Love you, Nic

  2. While I am so sad that you are moving I know that this is your calling. I feel you were an angel sent here for me and it saddens me to see you go. You have brought so much positive energy to our job. I admire your faith and courage. I hope to someday have half your faith. I still haven’t seen or felt many of the answers I seek. I still feel struggles in areas and wonder what I am doing wrong to not feel the answers I seek.
    You will be greatly missed…I’m very blessed to have known you and seek your wisdom on a daily basis. You have truly been an angel in my life. I will pray for you on this new adventure in your life.

    1. Amen my sister, I feel my own self talking as you are writing, my feelings, my thoughts and my convictions. God will take care of you on your journey to Oregon, and I thank God for knowing such a woman of strong faith!

Leave a Reply

