Home

What Am I Listening To?

Listen

Proverbs 1:33

33 But whoso hearkens to me [Wisdom] shall dwell securely and in confident trust and shall be quiet, without fear or dread of evil.

This scripture answers a very good question: “What should I be listening to?” Should I be listening to my heart? My dreams? My friends? My parents?

First and foremost my ears need to be dialed in to listen to the wisdom of God. How do I hearken to Wisdom? I intentionally set my heart to seek God first. First, before I respond to the pull of my emotions, first before I let opinion lead me. I give my full attention to God’s way of thinking and doing, letting that attention translate into loving obedience.

index

When I seek the Lord and I hear His wisdom I must act on it. It is only when I act on what His wisdom speaks to me that, no matter what I am facing, how devastating or terrifying to my heart—my mind, will and emotions shall not be thrown into chaotic turmoil. In the midst of turmoil His wisdom causes me to rest in the confidence and hope that His wisdom has the total solution to what I am facing. He has the answer to my trial. What a place of peace! God wants me to have peace in the midst of my trial.

As I depend on Him, the problem may still be there, unchanged but I am changed. I no longer carry the weight of it. His wisdom changes the focus of my care. As my focus changes, His peace comes into clarity. The clearer I see His wisdom, the more at rest my heart sets. The storms of negative emotions still rage, panic, fear, anger but they are quieted by His peace. He is my safe haven because I know He is orchestrating all those things for my good.

Distress is relieved and my soul is refreshed. Oppression is lifted and my whole being is lighten and enlightened. He bares my burdens and carries my sorrows. (Isaiah 53:4). He causes me to navigate life’s trials by and through His wisdom. He knows the way.  Even when sudden terror comes upon me or adversity increases, if I keep my heart open to hearing His wisdom and acting on it, it will not move me from Him or Him from me. He anchors my soul, not with weight but with joy and confidence. His wisdom does not confine me but stabilizes and balances me.

Psalm 55:22 (AMP)

22 Cast your burden on the Lord [releasing the weight of it] and He will sustain you; He will never allow the [consistently] righteous to be moved (made to slip, fall, or fail).

My Prayer:

Father,

Help me cultivate a heart that hearkens to your wisdom. A heart that diligently seeks you first, then actively listens. Help me to practice your Wisdom. Let the words, “You’re my refuge,” be more than just a phrase in my vocabulary–let those words be a living reality in my life. Teach me how to rest in your Wisdom. To trust you with all my heart, so you will be my first response, not my last resort. I let you quiet the storms of dis-ease, fear, and uncertainty that are currently raging in my life. Those emotions may no longer dictate my place of habitation for I dwell safely in your Wisdom. I cast all my cares of this moment on you, my future, my finances, my relationships, and I release them to you. I choose to center my care on you and your wisdom. You freely give me your wisdom, and I choose to receive it. In Jesus Name, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

