Home

Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 5

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 5

Amplified Bible (AMP)

5 My son, be attentive to my Wisdom [godly Wisdom learned by actual and costly experience], and incline your ear to my understanding [of what is becoming and prudent for you],

That you may exercise proper discrimination and discretion and your lips may guard and keep knowledge and the wise answer [to temptation].

For the lips of a loose woman drip honey as a honeycomb, and her mouth is smoother than oil;

But in the end she is bitter as wormwood, sharp as a two-edged and devouring sword.

Her feet go down to death; her steps take hold of Sheol (Hades, the place of the dead).

She loses sight of and walks not in the path of life; her ways wind about aimlessly, and you cannot know them.

Now therefore, my sons, listen to me, and depart not from the words of my mouth.

Let your way in life be far from her, and come not near the door of her house [avoid the very scenes of temptation],

Lest you give your honor to others and your years to those without mercy,

10 Lest strangers [and false teachings] take their fill of your strength and wealth and your labors go to the house of an alien [from God]—

11 And you groan and mourn when your end comes, when your flesh and body are consumed,

12 And you say, How I hated instruction and discipline, and my heart despised reproof!

13 I have not obeyed the voice of my teachers nor submitted and consented to those who instructed me.

14 [The extent and boldness of] my sin involved almost all evil [in the estimation] of the congregation and the community.

15 [a]Drink waters out of your own cistern [of a pure marriage relationship], and fresh running waters out of your own well.

16 Should your offspring be dispersed abroad as water brooks in the streets?

17 [Confine yourself to your own wife] let your children be for you alone, and not the children of strangers with you.

18 Let your fountain [of human life] be blessed [with the rewards of fidelity], and rejoice in the wife of your youth.

19 Let her be as the loving hind and pleasant doe [tender, gentle, attractive]—let her bosom satisfy you at all times, and always be transported with delight in her love.

20 Why should you, my son, be infatuated with a loose woman, embrace the bosom of an outsider, and go astray?

21 For the ways of man are directly before the eyes of the Lord, and He [Who would have us live soberly, chastely, and godly] carefully weighs all man’s goings.

22 His own iniquities shall ensnare the wicked man, and he shall be held with the cords of his sin.

23 He will die for lack of discipline and instruction, and in the greatness of his folly he will go astray and be lost.

2 thoughts on “Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 5”

  1. Day 5: Proverbs 5

    Exercising Wisdom

    2 That you may exercise proper discrimination and discretion and your lips may guard and keep knowledge and the wise answer [to temptation].

    When I exercise, I make preparations. I put on my exercise clothes, and I pull my hair back. I fill my water bottle and I make sure to put on my super cool athletic shoes. I prepare to do exercises that the trainer has taught me, so I do them right. I think about which muscle I want to strengthen or strain. I have an exercise agenda. As I was reading this verse, I thought of how I should prepare to exercise wisdom.

    I prepare by seeking the Lord and reading His word. I allow myself to be continually filled with His Holy Spirit. By doing this, I set myself to “exercise proper discrimination.” By allowing my heart to be conformed to His word and led by His Spirit I keep myself from “exercising” wrong and injuring myself or others. In-proper discrimination and discretion will lead to a critical negative attitude, which increases my “self righteousness” muscle. Wrong muscle group! Whereas, proper discrimination and discretion is being able to see the heart of the matter and God’s purpose for it. This builds His “uncompromisingly righteousness” heart muscle in me. This is the area of strength I want increased in my life. Thank, God His Holy Spirit is an excellent Trainer.

    When I have proper discrimination and discretion, then I will have the right words at the right moment. I am finding as I exercise wisdom, my breath stops smelling like foot odor because I am not sticking my foot in my mouth so often. I think about what I say before I say it. I do not let emotions steal my tongue and control my words. Also, because I can see the matter very clearly I can be accurate with what I do say. Wisdom always hits the spot. That includes having an answer to temptation. When desire is luring my heart to sin, Wisdom accurately shows me what is happening and what will happen if I continue in that path. Wisdom them gives me the answer, robbing temptation of it’s power over me.

    Wisdom helps me to guard my heart by guarding my lips. Lies off the lips(anything contrary to God’s Word), equals clogging of the flow of His truth in my life. God created us to speak His words that carry weight, hold meaning and affect our lives. He created us with the ability to fill our hearts with Him through words….Faith comes by hearing. As we listen to His words, our knowledge is greatly increased. With increased knowledge comes increased power.

    So, what are we speaking to ourselves, when only we can hear? Empty words, words spoken without thought, in jest or sarcasm lead to empty hearts and in fact decrease us. Yet, wisdom filled words direct our focus to God and increase our hope and our strength. So when we actually speak out loud wisdom’s voice is clearly heard and our heart is filled with faith. When our heart is filled with Him and His faith we exercise proper discrimination and discretion. We become excellent wisdom exercisers.

    ****Thank you, Lord for teaching me how to exercise your wisdom and to guard my lips.

  2. This chapter is about a topic that all too many have lived to regret. Adultery. Since this is a very sensitive subject, I will leave the counsel for the individual heart to discover and pursue on that basis.

    Reading the warnings about the consequence of immorality should be enough for anyone to never begin entertaining the thought of cheating but all to often, sin will take hold of a person thought life like a landslide. The Word states for the reader to maintain discretion and not to speak perversely. This is a key: Preventive Spiritual Health Advocate…Holy Spirit Red Cross. Get smarter. Stand against temptation in your mind. Don’t even entertain the thought.

    If you see someone who fits the description in the Word [v:3-6] this is not the person who has your best interest in mind. In fact, this seducer only has his or her best interest in mind. Most time than not, money is the real reason someone commits adultery. Here in verses [v:9-14] the person REGRETS the fact that they got took. They gave the best years of their life- only to be tossed aside for something or someone better. The cold-hearted truth is that another person stole [feasted] on all the wealth and used it to their own gain [luxuries and houses. V:10]. This truth rings in the belfry of one’s mind -LOUDLY in the utterly ruined towers left behind. Unscrupulous, manipulative and corrupt behaviors are hidden behind the cloak of alluring, convincing and discrete. God tell us to not get off our walk of faith to approach temptation. In fact, God tell us to not even go near the door of the one who is trying to seduce you. For this will serve only to humiliate you.

    Again, metaphors are used in the scriptures but it is to show the truth of the consequence of Adultery. God continues to bring back the virtues of marriage and remaining in the covenant of your love for each other. To value the special qualities in each other that brought you together. Know that God is watching over to protect and honor the bonds of your married life. If you repent of the sin of adultery, I do believe it is possible to restore a marriage but it will need mutual affirmation and Godly counseling.

    We are adults and so with that said, the last portion of this chapter warns that a man’s or woman’s ways are in full view of the Lord and He examines all his paths.[v:23] Regardless if you are a believer or not. You can not say that there is no God, therefore I have no one to judge me. The truth is here in plain site…like adultery is to God. Think about that.

    My Prayer:

    Jesus, I pray for the heart of those who love and are loved by someone, who has their heart invested for a lifetime to that person, that they together find your Wisdom and Peace. Whether it is preventative assurance or restoration of a relationship, we can approach you Jesus for the Truth. You will answer, guide and heal the deepest hurt and bring a new Love…Your Love into the hearts of those who trust in You. Amen

    God’s Peace ~Zoey

Leave a Reply

