Home

Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 8

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 8 (Amplified Bible)

Proverbs 8

Amplified Bible (AMP)

8 Does not skillful and godly Wisdom cry out, and understanding raise her voice [in contrast to the loose woman]?

On the top of the heights beside the way, where the paths meet, stands Wisdom [skillful and godly];

At the gates at the entrance of the town, at the coming in at the doors, she cries out:

To you, O men, I call, and my voice is directed to the sons of men.

O you simple and thoughtless ones, understand prudence; you [self-confident] fools, be of an understanding heart.

Hear, for I will speak excellent and princely things; and the opening of my lips shall be for right things.

For my mouth shall utter truth, and wrongdoing is detestable and loathsome to my lips.

All the words of my mouth are righteous (upright and in right standing with God); there is nothing contrary to truth or crooked in them.

They are all plain to him who understands [and opens his heart], and right to those who find knowledge [and live by it].

10 Receive my instruction in preference to [striving for] silver, and knowledge rather than choice gold,

11 For skillful and godly Wisdom is better than rubies or pearls, and all the things that may be desired are not to be compared to it.

12 I, Wisdom [from God], make prudence my dwelling, and I find out knowledge and discretion.

13 The reverent fear and worshipful awe of the Lord [includes] the hatred of evil; pride, arrogance, the evil way, and perverted and twisted speech I hate.

14 I have counsel and sound knowledge, I have understanding, I have might and power.

15 By me kings reign and rulers decree justice.

16 By me princes rule, and nobles, even all the judges and governors of the earth.

17 I love those who love me, and those who seek me early and diligently shall find me.

18 Riches and honor are with me, enduring wealth and righteousness (uprightness in every area and relation, and right standing with God).

19 My fruit is better than gold, yes, than refined gold, and my increase than choice silver.

20 I [Wisdom] walk in the way of righteousness (moral and spiritual rectitude in every area and relation), in the midst of the paths of justice,

21 That I may cause those who love me to inherit [true] riches and that I may fill their treasuries.

22 The Lord formed and brought me [Wisdom] forth at the beginning of His way, before His acts of old.

23 I [Wisdom] was inaugurated and ordained from everlasting, from the beginning, before ever the earth existed.

24 When there were no deeps, I was brought forth, when there were no fountains laden with water.

25 Before the mountains were settled, before the hills, I was brought forth,

26 While as yet He had not made the land or the fields or the first of the dust of the earth.

27 When He prepared the heavens, I [Wisdom] was there; when He drew a circle upon the face of the deep and stretched out the firmament over it,

28 When He made firm the skies above, when He established the fountains of the deep,

29 When He gave to the sea its limit and His decree that the waters should not transgress [across the boundaries set by] His command, when He appointed the foundations of the earth—

30 Then I [Wisdom] was [a]beside Him as a master and director of the work; and I was daily His delight, rejoicing before Him always,

31 Rejoicing in His inhabited earth and delighting in the sons of men.

32 Now therefore listen to me, O you sons; for blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are those who keep my ways.

33 Hear instruction and be wise, and do not refuse or neglect it.

34 Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting at the posts of my doors.

35 For whoever finds me [Wisdom] finds life and draws forth and obtains favor from the Lord.

36 But he who misses me or sins against me wrongs and injures himself; all who hate me love and court death.

4 thoughts on “Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 8”

  1. Chapter 8

    Wisdom connects the soul to the Creator. As God made the heavens and the earth, wisdom was the craftsmen alongside Him. His Wisdom will walk along the paths of Justice and is found in His Righteousness. Wisdom cannot be contained but it’s power set the boundary so the waters of the earth would not overflow. God used His Wisdom to mark out the foundation of the earth and the horizon on the face of the deep. The mists from the clouds form dew along the meadows of the fields. First was Wisdom and then all of time casts it shadow on the back of God’s hands.

    Wisdom is prudent in all it’s dealings with mankind. As for man, Wisdom formed the dust of the world. It is the element of truth that speaks to the heart and soul. It will tells us to fear the Lord, the one who is able to judge both the just and the wicked. Wisdom gives discernment and is right in what it speaks. It guides us away from what displeases God. Prudence tells us that the Lord hates evil, pride, arrogance, evil behavior and speaking contrary to the Truth. Wise counsel and sound judgment are of God. Wisdom has understanding and power, by it kings and princes reign and govern.

    Nature reflects the wealth of God’s Wisdom. Majestic are the mountains and deep are the oceans that hold the wonders of our God. Wisdom is the power of God’s unfailing love and will be found by those who seek prudently. Here is what Wisdom, like a tree will yield: fruit that is better than fine gold and choice silver. If mankind walks in the ways of God, Wisdom will bring riches and honor, enduring wealth and prosperity. For blessed is a man who listens to Wisdom, alert to hear its daily instructions and wise to not ignore it. For whoever finds Wisdom finds life!

    My prayer:

    Jesus, you were the living Word that walked amongst men. You showed us the Wisdom of God and how to follow the paths set by the Grace of our heavenly Father. For in your word it shows us that You were filled with delight day after day, rejoicing always in His presence, rejoicing in His whole world and delighting in mankind. You loved us as we were formed from the clay in our Fathers hands. It is your Spirit that breathed the Breath of Life into us. It was your good pleasure to come down, so that all would find salvation. In you we have found life again, through the redemption of the Cross which you bore in our stead. We thank you Lord that the path to eternity is through repentance and forgiveness that only a loving God brings forth. Amen

    Rejoice!~Zoey

    1. I love how you wrote about wisdom from this chapter. Especially, how wisdom connects our soul to our creator. Also how Wisdom cannot be contained but it set the boundaries of the water. What a wonderful image for me to think on. God’s wisdom is infinite. Wonderful piece! I love your use of imagery. I greatly imaged as I read your piece. ❤

  2. Day 8: Proverbs 8

    Wisdom watching

    34 Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting at the posts of my doors.

    Watching daily at the gates of wisdom………here is what I understand about that. I know James says in James 1:5 “If any of you is deficient in wisdom, let him ask of [a]the giving God [Who gives] to everyone liberally and ungrudgingly, without reproaching or faultfinding, and it will be given him.” So I know that God wants me to have His wisdom. I also know that it is my job to ask.

    When I watch something I am focused and intent. I have an agenda, a specific goal in mind as I am watching. This is the same purposeful attitude that I need to seek His wisdom with. I need to do it daily. Doing it daily sets my heart in the position of seeking the Lord first. It also creates a discipline that keeps my wayward heart obedient. Imagine if I stopped living my life from Jenni’s wisdom and sought the Lord’s? When I do that, I truly see myself become blessed. That word blessed for me, means empowered by all that God is and has. His wisdom empowers me to fulfill His purpose with all that I need to do it and to do it well.

    So I hear this scripture like this:

    Empowered to receive all that God is and has is Jenni who listen to me, moment by moment intently seeking and waiting upon me. Who makes it daily discipline to focus her heart on me and my wisdom, while waiting for my answers.

    *****Thank you Lord, for helping me ready myself to seek your wisdom as a daily discipline. Help me to look with intent and not unfocused. Thank you, for freely giving me your wisdom.

    1. Jenni:
      You bless me with what you shared with us. Wisdom is personified in this chapter, I really like how you expounded this lesson and personalized it for us. Thank you being you, my sweet friend!
      Blessings ~Zoey

Leave a Reply

