Home

Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 9

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 9

Amplified Bible (AMP)

9 Wisdom has built her house; she has hewn out and set up her seven [perfect number of] pillars.

She has killed her beasts, she has mixed her [spiritual] wine; she has also set her table.

She has sent out her maids to cry from the highest places of the town:

Whoever is simple (easily led astray and wavering), let him turn in here! As for him who lacks understanding, [God’s] Wisdom says to him,

Come, eat of my bread and drink of the [spiritual] wine which I have mixed.

Leave off, simple ones [forsake the foolish and simpleminded] and live! And walk in the way of insight and understanding.

He who rebukes a scorner heaps upon himself abuse, and he who reproves a wicked man gets for himself bruises.

Reprove not a scorner, lest he hate you; reprove a wise man, and he will love you.

Give instruction to a wise man and he will be yet wiser; teach a righteous man (one upright and in right standing with God) and he will increase in learning.

10 The reverent and worshipful fear of the Lord is the beginning (the chief and choice part) of Wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight and understanding.

11 For by me [Wisdom from God] your days shall be multiplied, and the years of your life shall be increased.

12 If you are wise, you are wise for yourself; if you scorn, you alone will bear it and pay the penalty.

13 The foolish woman is noisy; she is simple and open to all forms of evil, she [willfully and recklessly] knows nothing whatever [of eternal value].

14 For she sits at the door of her house or on a seat in the conspicuous places of the town,

15 Calling to those who pass by, who go uprightly on their way:

16 Whoever is simple (wavering and easily led astray), let him turn in here! And as for him who lacks understanding, she says to him,

17 Stolen waters (pleasures) are sweet [because they are forbidden]; and bread eaten in secret is pleasant.

18 But he knows not that the shades of the dead are there [specters haunting the scene of past transgressions], and that her invited guests are [already sunk] in the depths of Sheol (the lower world, Hades, the place of the dead).

2 thoughts on “Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 9”

  1. Often I refer to this lesson in Proverbs chapter 9, the invitation of Wisdom and Folly. When I was a young Christian I remember learning about making the “right” choices and picking new friends. That was always very difficult for me, because I had friends that were not Christians or at least not spirit filled born-again believers. After time the invites dwindled from the “Christian” friends I had made, because I hung out with my friends that I had grown up with from childhood, who were not church goers. When I look back at those years in my teens and the fellowship I had with my Christian friends, I count everyday as GOLD because of how it changed my life.

    When I was a teen, we went to something that was called “Coffee House” ministries. It was a hang-out for the hippy/grunge-crowd and surfers of the 70’s. They would meet in a small building and held open bible teaching & music for youths. I told you I was a radical believer…a Jesus Freak!

    Here in the scriptures we see that Wisdom like a friend will ask for your friendship. She has made the house comfy for your special time together and is excited to see you. Wisdom will bring the best to the table to share with you. That is what you can expect from God when you walk in His calling. It is not always immediate, because we all have to learn how to be equipped for His service. It usually does not happen overnight but instead…over time…a life time.

    Were in the cases of Folly, it is the complete opposite of Wisdom. Here the scripture teaches us about Folly and how to identify when you are about to enter into the wrong decision, direction, crowd, etc. In vs 17: “Stolen water is sweet; food eaten in secret is delicious!” So, if you have to hide where you go, who you go with and what it takes to get there…it is probably Folly- which will, unfortunately be your end result. A backslidden condition is filled with regrets. Wisdom is there to help us not make the same mistakes.

    Wisdom really is a good way to weigh the facts and understanding how to use clear instructions to live a victorious life in Jesus. I recommend you do this first and dare to be different from the crowd!

    My Prayer:

    Jesus,
    Help us to use your wisdom in our choices, decision and relationships. You gladly welcome all who want to know you. You walk beside us through our day whether it is at school, work. or home. Teach us of your Wisdom and Understanding through the lessons in your word, that we might be strengthened and bold for the sake of the Gospel. Thank you Jesus, that you are a friend that sticks closer than a brother, a father to the fatherless and the lover of our soul. You are our All in All and we Praise your Name…Jesus!! Amen.

    Rejoice in Him! ~Zoey

  2. Day 9: Proverbs 9

    14 For she sits at the door of her house or on a seat in the conspicuous places of the town,
    15 Calling to those who pass by, who go uprightly on their way:
    16 Whoever is simple (wavering and easily led astray), let him turn in here! And as for him who lacks understanding, she says to him,
    17 Stolen waters (pleasures) are sweet [because they are forbidden]; and bread eaten in secret is pleasant.

    This chapter begins with Wisdom and all the work she does to prepare for us. She plans, works and sends out for us. Whereas, a foolish woman rests in what she knows, expounding upon her own thoughts and feelings about a situation. She makes no preparations or effort. She does nothing but complain. The foolish woman shares with all who will listen. Sadly, this sharing decreases her and the person who listens to her. A foolish woman will take what belongs to God, her body, her soul, and her spirit and use it as she pleases. She will say with her mouth how much she loves the Lord and with the next whispered breathe belittle the pastor, worship team, her husband, her friends. This is foolishness! She is always decreased, sad, brought low, depressed and she drags all who listen to her with her.

    Yet, Godly wisdom always increases. Godly wisdom always positions my heart to learn. If I am walking in Godly wisdom there will always be room for instruction in my heart.

    9 Give instruction to a wise man and he will be yet wiser; teach a righteous man (one upright and in right standing with God) and he will increase in learning.

    Godly wisdom not only increases my learning but my years of life too.

    11 For by me [Wisdom from God] your days shall be multiplied, and the years of your life shall be increased.

    I love this verse because I depend on the wisdom of God to help me accomplish all I need to in each day. I believe that His Wisdom multiplies my daily activities and daily successes so I live more in each moment.

    ****Thank you, Lord for your wisdom! For helping me grow out of being the foolish woman. Also, for helping me actively seek wisdom, with preparation and planning. I submit to your wisdom increasing me in every area. Thank you, for helping me humble my heart to learn of you.

Leave a comment