My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 10

Amplified Bible (AMP)

10 The proverbs of Solomon: A wise son makes a glad father, but a foolish and self-confident son is the grief of his mother.

Treasures of wickedness profit nothing, but righteousness (moral and spiritual rectitude in every area and relation) delivers from death.

The Lord will not allow the [uncompromisingly] righteous to famish, but He thwarts the desire of the wicked.

He becomes poor who works with a slack and idle hand, but the hand of the diligent makes rich.

He who gathers in summer is a wise son, but he who sleeps in harvest is a son who causes shame.

Blessings are upon the head of the [uncompromisingly] righteous (the upright, in right standing with God) but the mouth of the wicked conceals violence.

The memory of the [uncompromisingly] righteous is a blessing, but the name of the wicked shall rot.

The wise in heart will accept and obey commandments, but the foolish of lips will fall headlong.

He who walks uprightly walks securely, but he who takes a crooked way shall be found out and punished.

10 He who winks with the eye [craftily and with malice] causes sorrow; the foolish of lips will fall headlong but [a]he who boldly reproves makes peace.

11 The mouth of the [uncompromisingly] righteous man is a well of life, but the mouth of the wicked conceals violence.

12 Hatred stirs up contentions, but love covers all transgressions.

13 On the lips of him who has discernment skillful and godly [b]Wisdom is found, but discipline and the rod are for the back of him who is without sense and understanding.

14 Wise men store up knowledge [in mind and heart], but the mouth of the foolish is a present destruction.

15 The rich man’s wealth is his strong city; the poverty of the poor is their ruin.

16 The earnings of the righteous (the upright, in right standing with God) lead to life, but the profit of the wicked leads to further sin.

17 He who heeds instruction and correction is [not only himself] in the way of life [but also] is a way of life for others. And he who neglects or refuses reproof [not only himself] goes astray [but also] causes to err and is a path toward ruin for others.

18 He who hides hatred is of lying lips, and he who utters slander is a [self-confident] fool.

19 In a multitude of words transgression is not lacking, but he who restrains his lips is prudent.

20 The tongues of those who are upright and in right standing with God are as choice silver; the minds of those who are wicked and out of harmony with God are of little value.

21 The lips of the [uncompromisingly] righteous feed and guide many, but fools die for want of understanding and heart.

22 The blessing of the Lord—it makes [truly] rich, and He adds no sorrow with it [neither does toiling increase it].

23 It is as sport to a [self-confident] fool to do wickedness, but to have skillful and godly Wisdom is pleasure and relaxation to a man of understanding.

24 The thing a wicked man fears shall come upon him, but the desire of the [uncompromisingly] righteous shall be granted.

25 When the whirlwind passes, the wicked are no more, but the [uncompromisingly] righteous have an everlasting foundation.

26 As vinegar to the teeth and as smoke to the eyes, so is the sluggard to those who employ and send him.

27 The reverent and worshipful fear of the Lord prolongs one’s days, but the years of the wicked shall be made short.

28 The hope of the [uncompromisingly] righteous (the upright, in right standing with God) is gladness, but the expectation of the wicked (those who are out of harmony with God) comes to nothing.

29 The way of the Lord is strength and a stronghold to the upright, but it is destruction to the workers of iniquity.

30 The [consistently] righteous shall never be removed, but the wicked shall not inhabit the earth [eventually].

31 The mouths of the righteous (those harmonious with God) bring forth skillful and godly Wisdom, but the perverse tongue shall be cut down [like a barren and rotten tree].

32 The lips of the [uncompromisingly] righteous know [and therefore utter] what is acceptable, but the mouth of the wicked knows [and therefore speaks only] what is obstinately willful and contrary.

Comments on: "Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 10" (3)

  1. Jenni:
    It is a humble heart that shows in this devotion. In today’s society, one is judged on abilities, achievements, intellect and persuasive communication. I am not saying these are not noteworthy traits. But instead, we should admire more what you pointed out when you said: “This Proverbs clearly shows me God’s intent for my mouth. My words have power. Now, I must decide what kind of power…….the power of life, that feeds and guides many or the power of death, that destroys not only me but all those who listen to me. I choose life!”
    We (believers) direct all this wisdom and understanding that we’ve learned by beginning to renew our thoughts, speech and actions. We begin to exchange the natural for the spiritual. The transformation of our spirit, soul and mind goes from “a fool who’s lack of understanding brought folly and spiritual death (separation from God) to becoming more alive in Christ Jesus. Everyday becomes an opportunity to explore and discover the deeper things of the Lord which in turn will strengthen our inner man (true-self). I like how you affirm it is a decision that requires a choice. To say to oneself, will I bring life (affirmation and encouragement) with my speech? or will I bring sorrow (condemnation and hatefulness)? I like to think we should leave people in better condition than we find them and happier for spending time together. Give life, give love and give your hand to help! It reminds me of a song from a 70’s Christian rock group – Love Song, the verse said(paraphrased)…”we are all gathered here because we all believe if there is a doubter in the crowd we as you not to leave. Take a listen to our story, hear the message that we bring…with one hand reach out to Jesus and with the other…bring a friend.” That has always stayed with me through the years…it’s just a simple message but it embodies a lot of what you have share with us in your devotion.
    One thing I will always be so grateful for, Jenni, is the hand of friendship you extended to me. You speak life to those who God brings into your path, from the word of God tucked close to your heart. God bless you, sweet friend of my heart ~Zoey

    • jennisahagun said:

      Dearest Zoey, you make my “condition” so much better! 🙂 Truly, you walk freely in my heart and always leave it increased and improved. Your friendship is a delight to my soul.

  2. jennisahagun said:

    Day 10: Proverbs 10

    Words

    This Proverbs makes lots of references to words. I firmly believe that God intended for us to have His power in our words. What is His power? Genesis 1:1, when God saw darkness, He spoke and light was created. That is what we as Christians need to be doing. Allowing His words, through us to create light in all whom we speak.

    11 The mouth of the [uncompromisingly] righteous man is a well of life, but the mouth of the wicked conceals violence.

    A “well of life,” that is what my mouth is supposed to be. My words are meant to be a place my friends, family and acquaintance can draw forth what they need in any given situation. The more I walk in the righteousness that Jesus has provided the more life giving my mouth becomes. Why? Because I speak out of my heart, which is in line with His word.

    Whereas, the mouth of the “wicked” conceals violence. Why? Because it will operate in deception. The mouth of the wicked with tell you one thing while feeling another thing. It may be thinking hateful things of you while telling you how wonderful you are. Total insincerity. I find it interesting that God calls this a “wicked” mouth. A wicked mouth comes from a wicked(twisted and perverted) heart.

    God intends for my lips to speak from a heart filled with His love, therefore transgressions are covered until healed, not exposed and opened to “critical” germs [vs. 12]. My lips are to hold His discernment and skillful and Godly wisdom [vs. 13]. Also my lips are to be restrained by Godly prudence, speaking only what He leads[ vs. 19].

    21 The lips of the [uncompromisingly] righteous feed and guide many, but fools die for want of understanding and heart.

    This Proverbs clearly shows me God’s intent for my mouth. My words have power. Now, I must decide what kind of power…….the power of life, that feeds and guides many or the power of death, that destroys not only me but all those who listen to me. I choose life!

    *****Thank you, Lord for teaching me how to operate my mouth by renewing my mind and letting you fill my heart with love. Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight. Let my words show forth your power, be for your glory and filled with your truth, your love, your wisdom and your grace.

Leave a Reply

