My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Race on!

run-the-race-hebrews12-1Today I had an “Aha!” moment. A moment when I see clearly what my issue is and am empowered to make the change that needs to be made. The pastor today was speaking about condemnation as a strategy of the enemy.  He referenced Hebrews 12:1:

Therefore then, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses [who have borne testimony to the Truth], let us strip off and throw aside every encumbrance (unnecessary weight) and that sin which so readily (deftly and cleverly) clings to and entangles us, and let us run with patient endurance and steady and active persistence the appointed course of the race that is set before us,

He pointed out that the word “sin” is not plural because it is a specific sin that besets us. He then took us to Gal 5:19-20 which tells us what the sins are:

19 Now the doings (practices) of the flesh are clear (obvious): they are immorality, impurity, indecency,

20 Idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, anger (ill temper), selfishness, divisions (dissensions), party spirit (factions, sects with peculiar opinions, heresies),

21 Envy, drunkenness, carousing, and the like. I warn you beforehand, just as I did previously, that those who do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God.

As I sat in that service I asked the Lord what the specific sin in my life is. He immediately brought to mind fear, which manifests in doubt and unbelief in my life. I often really struggle with believing what my eyes can’t see, what my mind can’t understand and what I don’t feel. I try to logic God.  May I just say God doesn’t fit into my logic, no matter how hard I try to squish Him in.

At first look I don’t see fear on my list of practices of the flesh in Gal 5.  However, I do see Idolatry. Idolatry is when I worship anything as the absolute authority and power in my life greater than God.  Isn’t that what I do when I doubt God? I am choosing to believe what I know, what I understand and what I can see more than what God is speaking, showing or leading in? Yes, it is and I saw it very clearly, today as the sin that I need to strip off and throw aside.

Another scripture that talks about sins of the heart is found in Matt 15:19:

 For out of the heart come evil thoughts (reasonings and disputings and designs) such as murder, adultery, sexual vice, theft, false witnessing, slander, and irreverent speech.

Fear, for me, is an evil thought. It is my own reasoning rising up to dispute God’s plan according to my limited senses. It is evil because when I allow it to operate in my mind; it creates a ping pong effect that creates confusion that renders me useless. My heart and my mind will war between feeling anxiety and thinking correctly to release faith. In that place of confusion, I always lose. I become the victim. That is not God’s plan. His plan for me is for good (Jer. 29:11). His good! His good always comes from the measure of faith He has given me, activated and working in my life.  He has not given me a spirit of fear (2 Tim 1:7)!

As I run the race that God has set before me, fear will rise up, sometimes, blatantly, sometimes overtly to entangle my heart and mind. It will use legitimate doubts to convince me to unbelief about my God. Pretty soon, my thoughts will become greater than my God. When this happens, all that I am will move in the direction of my idolize fear and it will be produced in my life. Then the power that God has given me to produce His work in my life (Faith) is contaminated and used to honor the enemy and produce his work in my life. Yuck! NO MORE!

It is so vital for me to recognize my enemy. When those fear thoughts come, I need to set them aside. They are trying to encumber me, to cleverly entice me to carry them, to worship them. Today, I decide no more free rides or piggy backs to fear.  I recognize that this is the “sin” that is trying to trip me.  I strip it off by setting my mind to being renewed to God’s word. I read, meditate, and speak about His word.  I think His thoughts (1 Cor. 2:16), I cultivate His attitude (Phil 2:5), and I speak His words (Ps 19:14).

The enemy’s power doesn’t change, but mine does. God gives me His power to defeat the enemy. So when fear tries to rise up, whether it comes in anxiety, doubt or unbelief I will recognize it and nullify its power with the power of God’s word. When fear is trying to manifest in my thoughts and heart or when others try to put fear on me, His words of faith will roll out of me. I will be vigilant with what I am thinking and what I am saying, making sure it lines up with what God says about the situation. I will run His race, free, because that is His plan for me. I will inherit His kingdom, which is His righteousness, His peace and His Joy.

Race on!

2 Timothy 1:7 (AMP)

For God did not give us a spirit of timidity (of cowardice, of craven and cringing and fawning fear), but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of calm and well-balanced mind and discipline and self-control.

For God did not give us a spirit of timidity (of cowardice, of craven and cringing and fawning fear), but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of calm and well-balanced mind and discipline and self-control.

Comments on: "Race on!" (6)

  1. Jenni:
    Good thing for us that God has the “Beat Fear” treads on our soles! GO!GO!GO! 😉 ❤

  2. It sounds like you had a great sermon. Please consider the words of John 1:29, “The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold! The Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world!”
    Consider the “singular” sin that we see in that verse. Blessings to you,

    Senior Pastor/Equipping The Saints
    Philip 3:10, “That I Might Know Him”
    http://gravatar.com/cchurchchurchblog
    http://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

