Home

Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 18

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 18

Amplified Bible (AMP)

18 He who willfully separates and estranges himself [from God and man] seeks his own desire and pretext to break out against all wise and sound judgment.

A [self-confident] fool has no delight in understanding but only in revealing his personal opinions and himself.

When the wicked comes in [to the depth of evil], he becomes a contemptuous despiser [of all that is pure and good], and with inner baseness comes outer shame and reproach.

The words of a [discreet and wise] man’s mouth are like deep waters [plenteous and difficult to fathom], and the fountain of skillful and godly Wisdom is like a gushing stream [sparkling, fresh, pure, and life-giving].

To respect the person of the wicked and be partial to him, so as to deprive the [consistently] righteous of justice, is not good.

A [self-confident] fool’s lips bring contention, and his mouth invites a beating.

A [self-confident] fool’s mouth is his ruin, and his lips are a snare to himself.

The words of a whisperer or talebearer are as dainty morsels; they go down into the innermost parts of the body.

He who is loose and slack in his work is brother to him who is a destroyer and [a]he who does not use his endeavors to heal himself is brother to him who commits suicide.

10 The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the [consistently] righteous man [upright and in right standing with God] runs into it and is safe, high [above evil] and strong.

11 The rich man’s wealth is his strong city, and as a high protecting wall in his own imagination and conceit.

12 Haughtiness comes before disaster, but humility before honor.

13 He who answers a matter before he hears the facts—it is folly and shame to him.

14 The strong spirit of a man sustains him in bodily pain or trouble, but a weak and broken spirit who can raise up or bear?

15 The mind of the prudent is ever getting knowledge, and the ear of the wise is ever seeking (inquiring for and craving) knowledge.

16 A man’s gift makes room for him and brings him before great men.

17 He who states his case first seems right, until his rival comes and cross-examines him.

18 To cast lots puts an end to disputes and decides between powerful contenders.

19 A brother offended is harder to be won over than a strong city, and [their] contentions separate them like the bars of a castle.

20 A man’s [moral] self shall be filled with the fruit of his mouth; and with the consequence of his words he must be satisfied [whether good or evil].

21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and they who indulge in it shall eat the fruit of it [for death or life].

22 He who finds a [true] wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.

23 The poor man uses entreaties, but the rich answers roughly.

24 The man of many friends [a friend of all the world] will prove himself a bad friend, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

2 thoughts on “Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 18”

  1. My Prayer:
    Father God, life can be lonely even in a crowd of people. I pray for those that are looking for their life partner. Who know they want to share the important milestones with someone, who has trusted this special person to you, who is waiting for that divine encounter that they will meet or realize that there is more than just a friendship developing with someone in their circle. Your word tells us that it is YOUR will to bring that person into our life…it is your perfect planning, preparing and leading of the heart of that individual. We can rest on knowing you are in control and that it will happen in Your perfect time. I pray for joyful excitement to fill these hearts with expectation and to have patience that their gift is only waiting to be delivered by your Holy Hands. Amen

    Time for the Master Match Maker! ~Zoey

    22 He who finds a [true] wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.

  2. Day 18: Proverbs 18

    20 A man’s [moral] self shall be filled with the fruit of his mouth; and with the consequence of his words he must be satisfied [whether good or evil].

    I am struck again as I read this verse of how the Lord has given us such power with our words. How we think about right and wrong is filled by what we speak from our mouths. Take a moment and think about the last 24 hours of words you have spoken. What kind of moral fruit have you filled yourself with? Was it sarcastic contrariness? Was it contemptuous complaining? Yes, those are the things I found in my mouth in the last 24 hours. Those fruits felt witty and smart coming out of my mouth but I wonder as they have entered into my moral self, have they benefited me or subtracted from me? How was God glorified?

    21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and they who indulge in it shall eat the fruit of it [for death or life].

    Is my moral self, filled with death or life? What kind of fruit am I eating? My words have consequences, good or evil, death or life……WOW! That is too much power to wield so nonchalantly. I need to pay attention to what is coming out of my mouth.

    I have been really working on being truthful with gentleness and love. I was in our teacher lounge and someone had put a new table cloth on our table. One of the other teachers walked in and commented on how lovely the table cloth was. I immediately agreed but had then had to backup and say, “Wait, I mean no, It is not to my taste.” I didn’t care for the table cloth and without really thinking I was lying to be sociable. However, as I have been reading Proverbs I am again convicted about walking in truth in all things. I want to be satisfied with fruit my lips speak. No half truths, or political correctness for me. I will be direct and honest but I will also be gentle and kind. I am again reminded of the qualities of wisdom:

    James 3:17 (AMP)

    17 But the wisdom from above is first of all pure (undefiled); then it is peace-loving, courteous (considerate, gentle). [It is willing to] yield to reason, full of compassion and good fruits; it is wholehearted and straightforward, impartial and unfeigned (free from doubts, wavering, and insincerity).

    It is my desire that my words will show forth that my moral self is filled with His honor, His truth,His grace, His love, and His wisdom.

    ****Thank you, Lord for teaching me about words. Help me know how to speak, and what to speak. Help my sense of right and wrong to be totally stuffed with your life and your good.

Leave a Reply

