Home

Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 19

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 19

Amplified Bible (AMP)

19 Better is a poor man who walks in his integrity than a rich man who is perverse in his speech and is a [self-confident] fool.

Desire without knowledge is not good, and to be overhasty is to sin and miss the mark.

The foolishness of man subverts his way [ruins his affairs]; then his heart is resentful and frets against the Lord.

Wealth makes many friends, but the poor man is avoided by his neighbor.

A false witness shall not be unpunished, and he who breathes out lies shall not escape.

Many will entreat the favor of a liberal man, and every man is a friend to him who gives gifts.

All the brothers of a poor man detest him—how much more do his friends go far from him! He pursues them with words, but they are gone.

He who gains Wisdom loves his own life; he who keeps understanding shall prosper and find good.

A false witness shall not be unpunished, and he who breathes forth lies shall perish.

10 Luxury is not fitting for a [self-confident] fool—much less for a slave to rule over princes.

11 Good sense makes a man restrain his anger, and it is his glory to overlook a transgression or an offense.

12 The king’s wrath is as terrifying as the roaring of a lion, but his favor is as [refreshing as] dew upon the grass.

13 A self-confident and foolish son is the [multiplied] calamity of his father, and the contentions of a wife are like a continual dripping [of water through a chink in the roof].

14 House and riches are the inheritance from fathers, but a wise, understanding, and prudent wife is from the Lord.

15 Slothfulness casts one into a deep sleep, and the idle person shall suffer hunger.

16 He who keeps the commandment [of the Lord] keeps his own life, but he who despises His ways shall die.

17 He who has pity on the poor lends to the Lord, and that which he has given He will repay to him.

18 Discipline your son while there is hope, but do not [indulge your angry resentments by undue chastisements and] set yourself to his ruin.

19 A man of great wrath shall suffer the penalty; for if you deliver him [from the consequences], he will [feel free to] cause you to do it again.

20 Hear counsel, receive instruction, and accept correction, that you may be wise in the time to come.

21 Many plans are in a man’s mind, but it is the Lord’s purpose for him that will stand.

22 That which is desired in a man is loyalty and kindness [and his glory and delight are his giving], but a poor man is better than a liar.

23 The reverent, worshipful fear of the Lord leads to life, and he who has it rests satisfied; he cannot be visited with [actual] evil.

24 The sluggard buries his hand in the dish, and will not so much as bring it to his mouth again.

25 Strike a scoffer, and the simple will learn prudence; reprove a man of understanding, and he will increase in knowledge.

26 He who does violence to his father and chases away his mother is a son who causes shame and brings reproach.

27 Cease, my son, to hear instruction only to ignore it and stray from the words of knowledge.

28 A worthless witness scoffs at justice, and the mouth of the wicked swallows iniquity.

29 Judgments are prepared for scoffers, and stripes for the backs of [self-confident] fools.

3 thoughts on “Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 19”

  1. My Prayer:

    Father,

    Let me be a reflection of your LIGHT, decrease me so that You may shine brighter. Show me daily how I can lend of myself to another to be an extension of your tender mercies and loving kindness. Thank you Lord for the opportunity to serve others. It is not our personality or our command of language that you seek, it is a willing heart to reach out and be an extension of your unfailing love. In that we give YOU honor and in that we find the TRUE meaning of preaching the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Amen

    17 He who has pity on the poor lends to the Lord, and that which he has given He will repay to him.

    He loved first! ~Zoey

    1. I love His light! I always pray that He would increase me so I can hold more of it. I love how you prayed to be an extension of His tender mercies and loving kindness, I so am praying that for me too. My heart is willing but my personality is under great construction! LOL This is a wonderful prayer.

  2. Day 19:Proverbs 19

    20 Hear counsel, receive instruction, and accept correction, that you may be wise in the time to come.

    I must set my heart to hear counsel. I do that by seeking the Lord with a humble heart. A heart that sets aside my opinion of the situation or circumstance. A heart that expects that God’s thoughts and ways are so far above mine, that I have to trust Him to help me understand and apply.

    As I seek the Lord, I must believe what I hear Him say. One way He speaks to me is through His word. I must actively read and interact with His word. Instruction always comes with expectation of action. For me, I write down what I hear Him say, so I don’t forget His instruction. So, I may go back to clarify if I need to. I can make sure I acting correctly according to His instruction.

    Accepting correction, is hearing it and receiving it but also having actions that show the corrections. Whom the Lord loves, He corrects (Hebrews 12:6). Correction should be a regular part of my life. It should be something I anticipate as a necessary part of my well being because it shows how much the Lord loves me. I am used to correction, because I receive a lot of it.

    *****Thank you Lord, for loving me so much that you counsel me, instruct me and correct me. Please Help me receive.

    Psalm 32:8 (AMP)

    8 I [the Lord] will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.

Leave a Reply

