My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 23

Amplified Bible (AMP)

23 When you sit down to eat with a ruler, consider who and what are before you;

For you will put a knife to your throat if you are a man given to desire.

Be not desirous of his dainties, for it is deceitful food [offered with questionable motives].

Weary not yourself to be rich; cease from your own [human] wisdom.

Will you set your eyes upon wealth, when [suddenly] it is gone? For riches certainly make themselves wings, like an eagle that flies toward the heavens.

Eat not the bread of him who has a hard, grudging, and envious eye, neither desire his dainty foods;

For as he thinks in his heart, so is he. As one who reckons, he says to you, eat and drink, yet his heart is not with you [but is grudging the cost].

The morsel which you have eaten you will vomit up, and your complimentary words will be wasted.

Speak not in the ears of a [self-confident] fool, for he will despise the [godly] Wisdom of your words.

10 Remove not the ancient landmark and enter not into the fields of the fatherless,

11 For their Redeemer is mighty; He will plead their cause against you.

12 Apply your mind to instruction and correction and your ears to words of knowledge.

13 Withhold not discipline from the child; for if you strike and punish him with the [reedlike] rod, he will not die.

14 You shall whip him with the rod and deliver his life from Sheol (Hades, the place of the dead).

15 My son, if your heart is wise, my heart will be glad, even mine;

16 Yes, my heart will rejoice when your lips speak right things.

17 Let not your heart envy sinners, but continue in the reverent and worshipful fear of the Lord all the day long.

18 For surely there is a latter end [a future and a reward], and your hope and expectation shall not be cut off.

19 Hear, my son, and be wise, and direct your mind in the way [of the Lord].

20 Do not associate with winebibbers; be not among them nor among gluttonous eaters of meat,

21 For the drunkard and the glutton shall come to poverty, and drowsiness shall clothe a man with rags.

22 Hearken to your father, who begot you, and despise not your mother when she is old.

23 Buy the truth and sell it not; not only that, but also get discernment and judgment, instruction and understanding.

24 The father of the [uncompromisingly] righteous (the upright, in right standing with God) shall greatly rejoice, and he who becomes the father of a wise child shall have joy in him.

25 Let your father and your mother be glad, and let her who bore you rejoice.

26 My son, give me your heart and let your eyes observe and delight in my ways,

27 For a harlot is a deep ditch, and a loose woman is a narrow pit.

28 She also lies in wait as a robber or as one waits for prey, and she increases the treacherous among men.

29 Who has woe? Who has sorrow? Who has strife? Who has complaining? Who has wounds without cause? Who has redness and dimness of eyes?

30 Those who tarry long at the wine, those who go to seek and try mixed wine.

31 Do not look at wine when it is red, when it sparkles in the wineglass, when it goes down smoothly.

32 At the last it bites like a serpent and stings like an adder.

33 [Under the influence of wine] your eyes will behold strange things [and loose women] and your mind will utter things turned the wrong way [untrue, incorrect, and petulant].

34 Yes, you will be [as unsteady] as he who lies down in the midst of the sea, and [as open to disaster] as he who lies upon the top of a mast.

35 You will say, They struck me, but I was not hurt! They beat me [as with a hammer], but I did not feel it! When shall I awake? I will crave and seek more wine again [and escape reality].

 

Comments on: "Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 23" (4)

  1. Chapter 23

    Do whatever it takes get out of temptation. Do not envy or get involved with people who plot against someone for evil gain. This is asking for trouble and is moral impurity. You can not serve to Masters. Remember be true to yourself and all that God has done for you. Trust Him. Don’t try to stretch the truth of God or add to it. Don’t move the boundaries that His word has set by being a secret sinner. There is nothing secret before the Lord. He is omnipresent- he is able to see everywhere all the time. He alone can perform the Power of His mighty word. He alone watches over His knowledge. Remember this truth and apply it to your heart for instruction. [Vs:1–14]

    Make God’s heart glad by how you live your life daily. Consider the result of a drunkard, glutton and someone who is unfaithful. We can find the same results in our life if we don’t adhere to the instructions of God’s word. Instead, follow the wisdom of your father and take care of your mother, even when she is old. She cared for you when you were a child. In the same respect, listen to your Heavenly Father and remember Wisdom, for she is there inside your heart, continuing to care for you like a mother’s love. [Vs:15-25]

    It’s wise to abstain from lascivious behavior of all kind. Pray without ceasing in times of temptation, even the smallest sin can lead to other bad habits, so ask the Lord for help and strength. His grace is made perfect in weakness-remember that always. Fill the emptiness in your life with good things of the Lord. For God is your Heavenly Father, he will guide you in the right path and away from evil trappings. His Spirit dwells within your being, bring Him honor in all your ways. [Vs:26-35]

    God is Love! ~Zoey

  2. jennisahagun said:

    Day 23:Proverbs 23

    23 Buy the truth and sell it not; not only that, but also get discernment and judgment, instruction and understanding.

    The Truth costs…..am I willing to pay the price? Here I see that scripture says, I am to buy truth. Jesus is the way, the life and the truth. The cost of Jesus is all that I am. I spend my life in owning the Truth He has made available to me. I must own His truth but I must learn to operate in His discernment , His judgement, His instruction, His understanding. This only comes by His Holy Spirit, who teaches me and trains me in the way I should go.

    Why would I sell the truth? When I exchange it for a lie. Sometimes, I give it up for that which I really want. I compromise and justify. Sometimes, I give it up for what I can see with my eyes, feel with my heart and know with my mind. I trade it when my fear or doubt become greater then the truth in my life. I must learn to treasure His truth so much that nothing could induced me to sell it.

    ******Thank you, Lord, for helping me pay the price for knowing you. Help me to keep your truth as the center of my heart and the focus of my thoughts. Then will your discernment, Your judgment, your instruction and your understanding be rightly operated in me and through me.

Leave a Reply

