My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Proverbs_31

Proverbs 27

Amplified Bible (AMP)

27 Do not boast of [yourself and] tomorrow, for you know not what a day may bring forth.

Let another man praise you, and not your own mouth; a stranger, and not your own lips.

Stone is heavy and sand weighty, but a fool’s [unreasoning] wrath is heavier and more intolerable than both of them.

Wrath is cruel and anger is an overwhelming flood, but who is able to stand before jealousy?

Open rebuke is better than love that is hidden.

Faithful are the wounds of a friend, but the kisses of an enemy are lavish and deceitful.

He who is satiated [with sensual pleasures] loathes and treads underfoot a honeycomb, but to the hungry soul every bitter thing is sweet.

Like a bird that wanders from her nest, so is a man who strays from his home.

Oil and perfume rejoice the heart; so does the sweetness of a friend’s counsel that comes from the heart.

10 Your own friend and your father’s friend, forsake them not; neither go to your brother’s house in the day of your calamity. Better is a neighbor who is near [in spirit] than a brother who is far off [in heart].

11 My son, be wise, and make my heart glad, that I may answer him who reproaches me [as having failed in my parental duty].

12 A prudent man sees the evil and hides himself, but the simple pass on and are punished [with suffering].

13 [The judge tells the creditor] Take the garment of one who is security for a stranger; and hold him in pledge when he is security for foreigners.

14 The flatterer who loudly praises and glorifies his neighbor, rising early in the morning, it shall be counted as cursing him [for he will be suspected of sinister purposes].

15 A continual dripping on a day of violent showers and a contentious woman are alike;

16 Whoever attempts to restrain [a contentious woman] might as well try to stop the wind—his right hand encounters oil [and she slips through his fingers].

17 Iron sharpens iron; so a man sharpens the countenance of his friend [to show rage or worthy purpose].

18 Whoever tends the fig tree shall eat its fruit; so he who patiently and faithfully guards and heeds his master shall be honored.

19 As in water face answers to and reflects face, so the heart of man to man.

20 Sheol (the place of the dead) and Abaddon (the place of destruction) are never satisfied; so [the lust of] the eyes of man is never satisfied.

21 As the refining pot for silver and the furnace for gold [bring forth all the impurities of the metal], so let a man be in his trial of praise [ridding himself of all that is base or insincere; for a man is judged by what he praises and of what he boasts].

22 Even though like grain you should pound a fool in a mortar with a pestle, yet will not his foolishness depart from him.

23 Be diligent to know the state of your flocks, and look well to your herds;

24 For riches are not forever; does a crown endure to all generations?

25 When the hay is gone, the tender grass shows itself, and herbs of the mountain are gathered in,

26 The lambs will be for your clothing, and the goats [will furnish you] the price of a field.

27 And there will be goats’ milk enough for your food, for the food of your household, and for the maintenance of your maids.

Comments on: "Proverbs 31 Challenge ~ Chapter 27" (4)

  1. Jenni:
    One of the difficult things for me is to accept compliments. But here we read in the word that we should let other people compliment us. There is a difference in humility and humbleness but both require meekness of heart. A pure heart is an honor to our Lord. You have such a pure and humble heart to want to seek that which brings honor to the Lord above all and in all things. Be comforted, the Lord is in your story! Operate in Praise and Worship…it is the dew in the morning and honey to the heart! Blessings~Zoey

    • jennisahagun said:

      Zoey <3, Accepting compliments is a challenge. My issue with it is to keep the balance between taking the credit for myself or giving all the glory to God. So, I ask the Lord how to deal with compliments and He is teaching me. I always keep in my heart the fact that Jesus considered not His equality with God as something He should assert and take, but He let God exalt Him. That is my heart with compliments, let them be as God's words to uplift and encourage me in Him( Phil 2:6-11). I trust Him to help me to know when I need to receive them and when I need to deflect them. I am praying and trusting Him to show me the same attitude of Christ Jesus, His humility to walk in. He helps me to humble my heart. The purity that you see in me is the fulfillment of that prayer. Thank you for noticing His answer to my prayer.

      As we learn how to speak and build up one another, that sows seeds of uplifting and encouraging words. Which in turns creates harvests of "compliments." How we process those compliments determines the yield. You, my friend of Godly life, are constantly sowing those seeds of edification. I just pray that as your harvest comes that your canning goes well! 🙂 Let your heart partake of the harvest He has lead you to sow. Trust Him for His wisdom to know which compliments to can and which to toss. I love you dear friend.

  2. Chapter 27

    Don’t’ brag about your accomplishments. God esteems a person who has a contrite heart and trembles at His words.[Isa.66:1-2] Don’t always bring notice to yourself. Be patient. People will compliment you if you let them. [Vs:1-2]

    Satan is the Master of dissimulation, do not allow him to place a stronghold in your thought or actions. [Vs:3-4]

    When developing relationships be a reflection of the kind of friend you want to have. Don’t defraud another person’s love and trust. [Vs:5-10]

    Be a person who brings honor to your parents and they will guard you from enemies who try to ruin your reputation. Here is a key: God will test us by how we handle being esteemed. Be humble before God. A fool can’t be changed by reasoning – only God can chasten the unfaithful. [Vs:11-22]

    Be mindful of your life. Make a list of expenses and keep to a budget. Make provisions for yourself and your family. Remember the poor, too. [Vs:23-27]

    Let God write YOUR story!~Zoey

  3. jennisahagun said:

    Day 27:Proverbs 27

    21 As the refining pot for silver and the furnace for gold [bring forth all the impurities of the metal], so let a man be in his trial of praise [ridding himself of all that is base or insincere; for a man is judged by what he praises and of what he boasts].

    Praise is an interesting thing. It is something I think overflows from joy. Joy comes from the Lord. Yet, this scripture tells us we will have trials of praise and those will be considered trials as severe as the furnace for silver and gold that brings forth all our impurities. Furthermore we will be judged by what we praise.

    God created us to worship….we have that need. However since the entrance of sin, praise that we were originally meant to give to God is now being given to ourselves. I only will praise that which I worship. So, what you hear coming out of my mouth and that which I spend my time, finance and energy on is what I truly worship. So, the question I must ask myself is, what is dominating those areas of my life? Do I talk mostly about myself? Do I spend my time thinking mostly only on me? Do I spend most of my money on things for myself? These are great questions to help locate where I am in my trial of praise.

    I am always in a trial of praise. Why? Because I was created to worship God and praise is an outflow of that design. Praise is innate, I just don’t realize it. Good praise is when I speak things about God’s goodness, that glorify Him. Bad praise is when I complain about a situation, that glorifies me. I have the ability to do both. This then is the trial….I am always praising but not always praising the right thing. In the moment, will I chose to honor God or myself? I must listen to myself speak, examine my thoughts, my time and my finances for evidence of what I worship. This will show where I am and be the judge of what I really treasure.

    Then there is the trial of praise that is given to us. When people praise me, what do I do with it? I personally, am learning the balance between accepting praise in confidence in what God is doing in me and being insincerely humble. Then there are those times, when I feel the praise rising up in my heart, inflating my head and puffing me up. This then becomes a trial to give all praise and honor to my God. See praise is always meant to uplift. My heart desire is all the praise that comes to me, flow through me and be lifted up to my great God who is faithfully working out His perfect plan in me. This kind of praise uplifts me, but not to my glory but to His.

    *****Thank you, Lord for helping me operate praise. Let me let all praise flow through me to you. Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight.

Leave a Reply

