My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

10155326_10152142451544482_5554298826824951711_n

When Jenni asked me to consider doing another blog, I was honored and hesitant at the same time. I have read a number of other blogs on this site and was feeling intimidated by the depth, insight and wisdom that has been shared among all of you. Even though I have grown up in the church from the time I could crawl, and attended a Christian college in order to pursue a career in church ministry, Biblical knowledge has never been a strong point of mine.I cannot quote you verses off the top of my head, nor am I able to accurately list the Bible stories and events in chronological order. I could probably spell all the books of the Bible but I may not be able to tell  you what each book is about. I cannot remember if Cain killed Abel or if it was the other way around.

5233809

I love the famous quote from St. Francis of Assisi, “Preach the Gospel. And, if necessary, use words.” I may not be able to paraphrase, interpret, or adequately explain what Paul’s letters to the Romans really mean, but I can show you how my life has been changed by the Holy Spirit. I can show you what God meant when He called us to love our neighbors as ourselves and forgive those who do us wrong. So, when Jenni asked me to prayerfully consider what I could share with you, I struggled with feelings of inadequacy–“What would I possibly have to say that would be insightful and informative? You all have beautiful, articulate ways of bringing God’s Word to life…I don’t.” I must have started five different entries, all different topics, when I suddenly realized I knew exactly what God wanted me to share.

lion-king-mufasa-simba-foot

It is natural to feel inadequate to be a messenger of God’s Word. We all have our personal reasons–“I’m not a good speaker.” “I’m too shy.” “Someone else can say it so much better than I could.” “I don’t have enough Biblical knowledge and I’ll look foolish trying to explain why I am a believer.” But, when you look at the people God chose to preach the Gospel, they weren’t always the best public speakers (Moses) or most obedient (Jonah). Jesus’ disciples were ordinary men who had been empowered to spread the Good News. Our faith stories were not meant to be hidden and kept a secret. Our stories and discoveries of God were meant to be shared so that others might come to know Him as well. It is time I stop worrying about whether I will sound intelligent and knowledgeable. God can, and will use me for His glory. And, that is what I love about how God works–“He does not called the equipped. He equips the called”.

use-me-1

 Heavenly Father, Thank you for calling all of us to be bearers of Your name. Thank you for equipping us to do Your work and to share Your Word with Your people. In our moments of feeling inadequate, remind us that through You, we are made more than adequate! Amen.

tumblr_lxi3z9Y9sc1r7ayt7o1_500

 

 

Comments on: "Equipped By God By Naomi Sahagun" (12)

  1. Thank you for your like of my post, “Consider The Words, Consider The Commitment.” Your kindness is a
    real blessing to me.

    Senior Pastor, Equipping The Saints
    Philippians 3:10 “That I May Know Him”
    http://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

  2. Thank you for your like of my post on”The Simple Things Of Life.” You are a blessing.

    Senior Pastor, Equipping The Saints
    Philippians 3:10 “That I May Know Him”
    http://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

  3. Naomi Woodrum said:

    Thank you, everyone, for your kind words of affirmation and sharing your own similar struggles. It is always nice to know you’re not alone! The words I needed to share were there all along, if I had just stopped to listen…which I did 🙂

  4. Naomi, a huge THANK YOU! I think you’ve given me the “knock on the head” I’ve needed to start writing again. You are not alone in your feelings of inadequacy. You’ve demonstrated that you are anything but!

    Shalom, Art

  5. Well said. Your changed life is your testmony. Blessings!

  6. I love this my friend. Most especially the following words, ”He does not called the equipped but rather He equip the call”. That is very true. Most times, we don’t know the power of what we are carrying until He give us the opportunity to display what He has placed in the inside of us. Moreso, we always think that we need men’s approval. The only approval we need is that of God. We are in a world that is full of accusation no matter how hard one try they must see a way to accuse you and because of that I have decided that whatever I do and will do is only to glorify God who has given me the wisdom, power and opportunity to do it. Thanks for sharing my friend!!

  7. For not being “equipped” I think the Lord did a mighty fine job of getting the point across through you. I KNOW I’m not equipped but He sure is and we have to rely on Him. Blessings to you.

  8. Reblogged this on The Abuse Expose' with Secret Angel and commented:
    ”He does not called the equipped. He equips the called”.

  9. Amen! I absolutely love this. This message is “right on”! I have said many of these things myself but I keep remembering… “”He does not called the equipped. He equips the called”. Thanks for sharing this!

  10. Naomi:
    Excellent! We are taught as Christians to not worry about what people say or think about us but truthfully, it is a difficult hurdle to overcome. We are geared in society to want or seek after the approval of others to the point of addiction. When it gets to that point, a person needs to recognize what is really going on in their faith walk and get healing.

    One devotion to read is 1Corithians Chapter 1, my emphasis is on Vs 30: ” But it is from Him that you have your life in Christ Jesus, Whom God made our Wisdom from God, [revealed to us a knowledge of the divine plan of salvation previously hidden, manifesting itself as] our Righteousness [thus making us upright and putting us in right standing with God], and our Consecration [making us pure and holy], and our Redemption [providing our ransom from eternal penalty for sin].”

    Vs31″ So then, as it is written, Let him who boasts and proudly rejoices and glories, boast and proudly rejoice and glory in the Lord.”

    Meaning, that we boast [tell of] and proudly rejoice [share the good news of the gospel] and glory [ the greatness of the glory is God] in the Lord. It is the witness of the Holy Spirit that gives the wisdom and teaches. So then, the questions becomes are you being taught by the Holy Spirit in your life? And, are you seeking God’s will over your own? There are genuine rules of Holy Living [Grace] that our loving God teaches. Consider your life like a chalkboard and God is the Master of Knowledge, Jesus is the Priest of Righteousness and the Holy Spirit is the Chalk of Life lessons taught. Allow Him to write His Story in your life! Remain in Him and He will remain in you! Faith is Love in Motion!

    Blessings on you, Naomi! Thank you for sharing in our Circle of Friends! ~Zoey

  11. Anonymous said:

    Loved this devotion. I feel the exact way you do and am so glad God gave you the courage to do this. Thanks you for sharing. Dana

Leave a Reply

