Home

Learning to let God operate in my weaknesses: Day 2

Image

The Jesus crucifixion process from Matthew 27

Step one: No reply

Matthew 27:1-2; 11-14

27 When it was morning, all the chief priests and the elders of the people held a consultation against Jesus to put Him to death;

And they bound Him and led Him away and handed Him over to Pilate the governor.

11 Now Jesus stood before the governor [Pilate], and the governor asked Him, Are you the King of the Jews? Jesus said to him, You have stated [the fact].

12 But when the charges were made against Him by the chief priests and elders, He made no answer.

13 Then Pilate said to Him, Do You not hear how many and how serious are the things they are testifying against You?

14 But He made no reply to him, not even to a single accusation, so that the governor marveled greatly.

First, Jesus was bound and handed over to Pilate. Charges were made against him by the chief priests and elders. Jesus’ response: He made no reply to him, not even to a single accusation. NO ANSWER! Jesus knew who He was and what He was called to do. He gave no energy to that which was not His purpose. His purpose was to die, not defend His right, His authority, and His ability.

Translation: In my life, lack is the authority that is trying to crucify me. It accuses me constantly with thoughts, words of lack, and circumstances of lack. Yet, I am learning that my God is a God of provision, that is my absolute truth. So when I stand in front of my insecurities, my bills and needs that accuse my God of bad provision and demand I pay up, I give no energy to answer them. I don’t defend myself, excuse myself or stand up for myself. Fear and doubt, my own personal chief priests, try to accuse me; I make no answer because I know the answer. I must die to myself, my opinion of the situation, my logic of it, and my strength to solve it. This situation is God’s plan to bring me into His resurrected power; the only problem is I must die first. Death must always preface resurrection.

Death to the works of my flesh from Galatians 5:19-21. Idolatry, which is staunching myself in my opinion and worshiping it. Anger, which is my ill temper when I don’t get my way or think I have been misused. Strife, which is when I use my words to make trouble for others, especially when I speak of things I should not. Jealousy, which is when I spend my time comparing myself to others and hating them for it. Selfishness, which is putting what I want or need above everything.  These are the works of my flesh that I struggle so with.These areas put me opposition to the Spirit.

All of these areas God has provided for me to overcome, yet I daily face their accusations. My mind races with plans to get me out of this lack. If only I try harder, be better, do more. I worry, agonize over the lack. I even guilt myself for not doing better. I try to make my strengths work harder, be bigger. This is me, answering back my accusers. Answering back always grows lack for me and prolongs the accusation sessions. God has provided me the Holy Spirit which empowers me in each of these areas of lack.

In this weakness, I must be like Jesus, make no reply. Making no reply requires I learn to let God operate in my weakness. Yet, I always want to reply! Always! To defend myself, to excuse myself, to stand up for my rights. Humbling myself is what is required.  God is my Source and is teaching me to receive all that He is. As I stop during this process and focus my heart on Him, all the power I would have given to lack, is instead powered in me to make no reply.  I will give no power to lack, for lack is not God’s provision for me. Lack will be used to glorify God in my life. I will not ponder it, indulge it or feed it. I focus my heart on growing God’s perfect provision in my thoughts, words, and actions. I choose to let my flesh be crucified. I choose to let Christ operate in this weakness. I am becoming all Christ has designed me for and I will receive all that He has provisioned for me.

Galatians 2:20  (AMP)

20 I have been crucified with Christ [in Him I have shared His crucifixion]; it is no longer I who live, but Christ (the Messiah) lives in me; and the life I now live in the body I live by faith in (by adherence to and reliance on and complete trust in) the Son of God, Who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

2 Corinthians 12:9  (AMP)

But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me!

2 thoughts on “Learning to let God operate in my weaknesses: Day 2”

  1. Jenni:
    Indeed, we are able to learn from the stations of the cross and reflect within our spirit the characteristics of Christ. We have the lessons of the Holy Spirit that show us how to respond and if we fall short of the mark. we have the reminder that these are the finished works of Christ that guide our daily walk. God does match the grace to the need. Perfectly every time. There was only one who was Perfect and it is Jesus who is willing to meet you in the moment…divinely, with unfailing love. He holds the answers and is a faithful teacher of God’s wisdom. Great study, Jenni! God’s working it out simply wonderful for you! Blessings ~Zoey

  2. This really speaks to my heart. I’m always quick to defend myself, justify my reason, it takes great conviction for me to “not answer”. I will be praying for the strength to be silent. I think this is why I don’t always ” hear or see” things any other way but my way. Thank you for this study your doing, I needed to hear this.
    Dana

Leave a Reply

