Home

Lord Of The Pain

Pain-Scale

 

Have you ever felt that your life is one of constant pain? That every where you go you have to face something painfully hard?  It seems to me that everywhere people are hurting. People are broken. The last few days for me, have been filled with encounters with people in agony, their souls broken, their bodies depleted.

My heart has been pondering this. I know about love languages, but what about pain languages? How do I hear and understand what is really causing the pain in others to help them effectively?

Today as I seek the Lord I read about Paul and his pain.

2 Corinthians 7:5 (NET)

For even when we came into Macedonia, our body had no rest at all, but we were troubled in every way—struggles from the outside, fears from within.

Recently I had a visit to the Chiropractor who told me that pain is usually the last resort of the body. When things in the back are out of place, they can remain that way for long periods of time till finally your body resorts to pain. He cited heart attacks, one doesn’t usually feel their arteries clogging and becoming impassable till they have a heart attack. The pain I have encountered these last few days attests to this. The people God has brought into my life have had constant misuse heaped upon them. So, as I have met them, their souls and bodies are brimful with pain.

That brings me to Paul. In this passage he was in a mighty struggle. Listen to his language, “bodies with no rest, troubled in every way, struggles outside, fears from within.” Can you hear Paul’s pain? He is exhausted, discouraged, weary and fearful. Yes, this same Paul who wrote 15 books of the bible and is considered the great Apostle. He still faced places of pain.

Pain in our lives is certain because there will always be places in our lives that get clogged, break, and that are coming out of alignment. We will face stresses. We will have fears.

2 Corinthians 7:10 (AMP)

10 For godly grief and the pain God is permitted to direct, produce a repentance that leads and contributes to salvation and deliverance from evil, and it never brings regret; but worldly grief (the hopeless sorrow that is characteristic of the pagan world) is deadly [breeding and ending in death].

We need God to process our pain. Pain that we direct always leads to regret. Regret is a sense of loss that is never soothed; a constant place of sorrow. God’s plan is to give us hope for our future, even in our pain. So that painful place becomes a display of God’s perfect care of us and place of constant joy. This is how God brings our pain to good.

As I let God process my pain, those moments don’t accumulate in my soul and body as places of regret, but as places where God meets me and fills me with hope for the future.

Now, when I meet someone who is in pain, I trust the Holy Spirit to reveal the truth of their pain language. The more balanced I become in this, the more attracted people with pain are to me. Strangers will share their heart aches, their disappointments and sorrows with me openly. Instead of seeing them through my own pain filter, because God has been meeting my needs and ministering to me, I can see clearer what the root cause of their pain is. I can give them help. His words through me minister with accuracy. He is the perfect healer. He understands the pain language and the love language of us all.

 

Father,

We repent for directing our own pain. Our souls and bodies are filled with regrets. We ask you to be the Lord of our pain. Help us to turn to you, depend on you, and trust you. Heal our hearts and heal our bodies.

Help us to become aware of those areas that are out of alignment or clogged. Give us wisdom to operate our souls, our minds, and our bodies. When pain shows up, we set our heart to seek you. We set our hearts to be healed by you.

Because you have directed our pain, we will become people of joy, your joy. Your joy in us will overflow in us and touch the many others who are in pain.

~In Jesus Name, Amen

 

Pooh

 

 

6 thoughts on “Lord Of The Pain”

  1. Zoey, how I loved watching you speak the pain language of our new friend. Your gentleness reached out to her and opened her heart. You are wonderful. ❤

  2. Jenni:

    Well said!!! We do have a pain language or the pain personage that speaks, if we are listening to what a person is saying or sharing with us at the time. I like what you said “…I trust the Holy Spirit to reveal the truth of their pain language.” People will come to you as the Lord leads. Follow what the Holy Spirit prompts and as you say… “His words through me minister with accuracy. He is the perfect healer. He understands the pain language and the love language of us all.”

    Amen ❤ ~Zoey

  3. Thank you so much, jennisahagun, for sharing those thoughts and insights with us. Over almost seven decades, I have learned, slowly for the most part, to recognize the painful times in my life as the times when the Potter is working the lumps and rocks and grit out of me so that He can produce in me a vessel that is useful to His purposes. I’ve noticed for some time that the reason people come to me in their pain is because they know I understand, however, it wasn’t until I read your insights that I saw how much responsibility that gives me to 1] be open about the pain I’ve experienced in my life and 2] share freely with others how our Heavenly Father has healed me of the pain I was dealing with so that, as you put it so well, ‘… His words through me minister with accuracy.’ I had to chuckle when I realized that I just published an eBook on Amazon titled My Father’s Hand, which is my own story told in the third person, but I didn’t really see until now that in doing that I am letting ‘His words through me minister with accuracy.’ Sure do appreciate you opening an antique kingdom sister’s eyes to that, my dear!! ❤

    1. Dear Nanci, isn’t amazing how God takes our pain and makes it beautiful? Your life has become a connection point between God and others. I believe that as they read your book, God will meet them in their pain and bring healing, just as He has healed you. Your pain becomes beautiful as God has flowed into those wounded places and restored and redeemed them. You have become like Ps 84:6-7

      “Passing through the valley of weeping (Baca), they make it a place of springs; the early rain also fills the pools with blessings. They go from strength to strength, increasing in victorious power; each of them appears before God in Zion.”

      You have passed through your valleys, you didn’t stop there, for you are a woman of victory, a woman who goes from mountain top to mountain top. Those valleys, places of desperation, which where once pits of despair, are now places God has filled with His Spirit. Those pits have become oasis’s filled with His life and blessings. Places others come and are refreshed, empowered and strengthened. Your pain did not defeat you but has allowed you to grow in God’s strength, increasing in His victorious power! You are a woman who has allowed God to be the Lord of your pain.

      1. Wow, jennisahagun, that is most kind, and I do appreciate your encouragement; however, it’s important to note that I did not really ‘go’ from mountain top to mountain top, I was carried by my Father’s hand. And yes, it is amazing when God reaches into impossible pain and shapes beauty out of it, often when we don’t even know that is happening or we’re actively resisting it. Our Father loves us too much to give up on making of us the person we have been designed to be, and there is nothing in the world more exciting than letting him do that, and seeing what becomes of us. I pray that I will, indeed, be able to speak to the hurting hearts of others who have been wounded and who need to curl up safe in Our Father’s holy hand, and I thank you with all my heart for your generous response to My Father’s Hand.

Leave a Reply

