My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Who’s Your Governor?

Romans 8:4 (AMP)

So that the righteous and just requirement of the Law might be fully met in us who live and move not in the ways of the flesh but in the ways of the Spirit [our lives governed not by the standards and according to the dictates of the flesh, but controlled by the Holy Spirit].

 Lately, I have been giving much consideration to my responses to the varied situations in my life. I have been listening to what I am saying, what I am thinking and how I am processing. The reason why is because the Holy Spirit has convicted my heart about lawlessness. I had been reading about the great apostasy in 2 Thessalonians 2:3-4, when I began to see that lawlessness is a sure sign of the Anti-Christ.

As I read about the end times, I began to question where in my life do I allow lawlessness to operate. Being born again, I have the spirit of Christ Jesus in me, and I am new creation, my spirit is alive, but there are still places in my soul  and in my thinking that need to be transformed by the renewing of my mind. Places in my emotions that I allow myself freedom to exalt what I think and what I feel above what I know God’s Word says. My natural tendency is to think things because I feel things, or see things and to do so without rules. If I feel it, it is natural and normal right? However, what I am finding is that tendency leads to actions, words and thoughts that glorify and exalt myself. My view point changes from what honors God to what justifies me.  I become self focused and then I find myself fighting God for ownership and rule of me. This is never a good place! Thank God, that His plan for me and for all of us, is to give us the perfect governor……..His precious Holy Spirit.

Hebrews 10:16Amplified Bible (AMP)

16 This is the agreement (testament, covenant) that I will set up and conclude with them after those days, says the Lord: I will imprint My laws upon their hearts, and I will inscribe them on their minds (on their inmost thoughts and understanding),

17 He then goes on to say, And their sins and their lawbreaking I will remember no more.

God first wrote the His law on the Ten Commandments, stones that where outside of me, but now He writes them on my heart! He has given me the ability in my inmost thoughts and understanding to know Him, obey Him and please Him. Not only that, He then says, that He will remember no more, my sins and lawbreaking! Halleluiah! Praise God!

This means, that as I am learning to allow the Holy Spirit to govern me, making huge lawless mistakes, I can trust Him to help me. As I seek Him, I can trust Him to bring to my attention the places in my life that I am not choosing to allow the Holy Spirit to govern, but also the places I am. I need to see both.

So, this morning I woke up with the question of “Who is my Governor?”  God has given me authority but unless I let His perfect governor govern it, I will make a complete mess of it. I set my heart to allow the dominion of “ME” to completely and totally governed by His Holy Spirit.   Hmmm…..sounds so good, but how can let those words actually be a reality in my life and not be just a good intention?

Read His Word

Think His Word

Speak His Word

Act His Word

Plain and simple, I must ask God to help me understand Gal 5:22-23,

fruit-of-the-spirit-tree11

and Galatians 5:19-21.

sins-of-flesh

I must humble myself to allow the Holy Spirit to tweak and redefine all of these things for me. I always want God’s definition instead of my opinion, but in order to receive that I must ask. This is what allowing the Holy Spirit to govern my life looks like for me. I am learning to acknowledge what I feel or think, but not to stop there. I must also bring it to the Lord for redefining. For surely, my ideas of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness and self control are colored by my experiences. The next step is to be open to that redefining. This is where lawlessness comes in for me. I don’t allow the redefining. I am so caught up in the emotions of the moments, that I justify my ungodly responses. I don’t take responsibility at all but blame it all on the situation or other person.  I find myself operating in “worldly wisdom” :

James 3:13-15

14 But if you have bitter jealousy (envy) and contention (rivalry, selfish ambition) in your hearts, do not pride yourselves on it and thus be in defiance of and false to the Truth.

15 This [superficial] wisdom is not such as comes down from above, but is earthly, unspiritual (animal), even devilish (demoniacal).

16 For wherever there is jealousy (envy) and contention (rivalry and selfish ambition), there will also be confusion (unrest, disharmony, rebellion) and all sorts of evil and vile practices.

I am learning to pause, to humble my heart,  to take up the responsibility of turning over the governing of me and the situation I am in,  to the Holy Spirit. In my moment of trial or even in moments of blessing I am seeing a change. When I stop to ask God to redefine the moment I am in, He opens my eyes to see clearly and correctly. I then am able to discern the correct choice and then a Godly response comes forth. When I ask for His wisdom, He gives it.

wisdom-6

This is what His wisdom looks like:

James 3:17

17 But the wisdom from above is first of all pure (undefiled); then it is peaceloving, courteous (considerate, gentle). [It is willing to] yield to reason, full of compassion and good fruits; it is wholehearted and straightforward, impartial and unfeigned (free from doubts, wavering, and insincerity.

I am making a concerted effort to seek the Lord, to trust Him to govern my life. Also to be open to His redefining, even when I don’t agree or understand. As I go into this day, I do so with the faith that the Holy Spirit is my Governor. As Governor, He has absolute authority in me and through me. He governs my words, my thoughts, my actions. He governs my pace, my timing and my agenda. The Holy Spirit helps me to maintain God’s course by filling me according to the demand of the load that I face. So, no matter what, I have all that I need, in the moment I need it.

Leave a Reply

