Devotions, Home

God Gives His Heart by Jenni Sahagun

God Gives………His Heart

image00 (2)

God cares about our hearts. He has specific plans for our hearts.

 

Ezekiel 36:26-27(ESV)

26 And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. 27 And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.[a]

 

Oh how my heart is often divided and prone to sin but when I allow the Lord charge of my heart, He transforms my heart into His. He gives me a new heart that is fit to contain His Spirit.

 

Think on that……your heart is God designed to hold His Spirit. His Spirit in your heart will cause you to walk in His statues! Then it will be said of you as it was said of David:

 

Acts 13:22(ESV)

22 And when he had removed him, he raised up David to be their king, of whom he testified and said, ‘I have found in David the son of Jesse a man after my heart, who will do all my will.’

image01

We are meant to be people with the heart of God. God has a heart! He has a heart that He wants us to have. He has made it possible for us to have His heart.

 

That word heart is translated in the Word Helps Studies as:

 

2588 kardía – heart; “the affective center of our being” and the capacity of moral preference (volitional desire, choice; see P. Hughs, 2 Cor, 354); “desire-producer that makes us tick” (G. Archer), i.e our “desire-decisions” that establish who we really are.

 

God wants us, our desires, our choices, all those things that make us tick and that establish who we really are, to be His heart for us. He gives us a new heart, but also a new Spirit. He wants us to succeed in manifesting His heart here on earth.

 

Look at Jesus’ heart for us:

John 17:20-21(ESV)

20 “I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, 21 that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.

 

Jesus’ heart for us was that we would be in the Father and Son, one. WOW! God’s heart toward us, is oneness. The level of intimacy that implies is beyond my capacity and my ability, yet He knew that and provided a new heart and a new Spirit.

God gives you a new heart and new spirit…..let that sink into your being. You too, just as David was, are a person after the heart of God.

 

1 thought on “God Gives His Heart by Jenni Sahagun”

Leave a Reply

