Devotions, Home

God Gives Correction by Jenni Sahagun

God Gives………Correction
Public domain image from www.public-domain-image.com

Proverbs 3:11-12(KJ21)

11 My son, despise not the chastening of the Lord, neither be weary of His correction;

12 for whom the Lord loveth, He correcteth, even as a father the son in whom he delighteth.

 

How do I feel about correction ?

 

As a child, correction was never fun! I was a child who always had to test the strength of “no.”  Consequently, I earned many spankings and I spent hours in time out. Correction made me feel angry, not delighted in. It was not something I sought or valued. It was not something that I intentionally set my heart to respond to. I grew into an adult whose defenses were always set off by correction. I felt I had already served all the correction time that I needed. I fought correction with all my might.

However, as I begin to learn of the Lord, I discovered this verse. I tried to skip over it but those words “Whom the Lord loves He corrects” kept popping up in the most inopportune times. Then one day I got it! My idea of correction was wrong. Correction was attached to shame, guilt and condemnation for me. God’s idea of correction is attached to love and delight. Talk about a mind shift.

 

I had wasted so many years dodging and hiding from correction. I associated it with me being bad. I felt bad when I was corrected. I hindered myself from growing because I refused God’s love through correction. Yet, this scripture plainly tells me that it is who the Lord loves that He corrects. Correction no longer has to be bad for me.

Now, when correction comes, my heart out of habit will try to rebel but I refocus it and I let it be a signal that God loves me and is delighting in me. Correction has become something I have learned to welcomed and embraced. This focus has really helped me grow in God’s love. I have become intentional in cultivating a heart receptive to correction because I do not ever want to miss the love of God again. For the love of God always comes with correction.
image01

Revelation 3:19(AMP)

19 Those whom I [dearly and tenderly] love, I tell their faults and convict and convince and reprove and chasten [I discipline and instruct them]. So be enthusiastic and in earnest and burning with zeal and repent [changing your mind and attitude].

 

So, I ask you, what do you think about correction?

 

 

2 thoughts on “God Gives Correction by Jenni Sahagun”

  1. Thank you for sharing things I have known but am glad to be reminded of. I also had lots of childhood spankings and sitting on my bed (most of which I richly deserved!) Also love the song by Joni …

Leave a Reply

