My life is but a weaving between the Lord and me!

Walking Worthy of God

jesusprayerWalking Worthy of God

Devotional by Zoey 2017

Jesus Prays for All Believers

John 17:20-26

20 “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 

21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you.

My Comment: To imagine on a lone evening as Jesus knelt to pray this to his Father, it would reach across the lines of time to future generations yet to be lived.  Even more so, we were in his heart before we were even a twinkle in our mother’s eye, so to speak.  He prayed for all to be one, as he and the Father are one. Can we have the same prayer for those in our life? To be one; in unity as the body of Christ Jesus. Does our character reflect his character to the Father?  And in the same line of thought, does our character reflect Jesus’ love through us to others.  Being one is to be full of Jesus with the Father in one Spirit. 

May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.

22 I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one—

 23 I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity.

Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.”

My comment: There is a two-fold gain in Jesus prayer for the believer. The first is to preach the message that God so loved the WORLD he sent his son Jesus. The second is that those who believe are promised to have life eternal in His kingdom in heaven.

24 “Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.

My Comment: The promise has been kept.  At his crucifixion, Jesus turned to the thief (alongside him) who confessed belief in Jesus as the son of God and said “today, you will be with me in paradise.”  We are brought to complete unity on earth as it is in heaven by the Father’s good will towards those who are found in his son, Jesus.  Each believer in Christ Jesus will see the glory of Jesus’ kingdom given him by his Father God. 

25 “Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me.

 26 I have made you[e] known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

My Comment: No greater love has been exampled in human history than the life and death of Jesus Christ.  None in any religion or belief systems throughout civilization can make the same claim as Jesus.  He said to his disciples that they would be hated because of his name, Jesus. He said this to prepare them.  It is that same name that also brought each of his Apostles to their greatest achievements in preaching the gospel and then to the ultimate reward…to stand in the presence of Jesus in his heavenly kingdom… reunited in Paradise.  Complete unity Crowned in Glory.  What love he gave.  What hope we who believe to hold.

~My prayer:

We are given all we need to live today, if we seek your kingdom first, Lord.  We have what we ask for in your Name, Jesus, for your word is truth and life.  Temper us with humility and the understanding to see where you are providing in our daily walk.  Let us find the satisfaction in all things good and the fullness of joy abundantly.

Amen

Leave a Reply

